Thread: MNS Reminder

Things are not right in Terryland...the boos have begun!

The Vllaznia sub keeper didnt make much of an effort to keep out the penalty

Quote Originally Posted by Black and White View Post
    Things are not right in Terryland...the boos have begun!
    They were all for the ref not the team, sorry to dissapoint.

any1 else notice the caption under tony mcdonnell's name just before the interview with roddy? it said "still uses his old student card to get discounts on cinema tickets"
    "Even if the sun ceases to rise, Even if the sea ceases to flow, Even if the wind stops to blow, The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning, glinting star in the sky."

433 Posts
    I wonder what clubs refused the karaoke thing.
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    Watching with an English football fan who's never seen MNS before. Karaoke King was rather embarrassing.
    If he's seen Soccer AM then he's pretty much seen MNS. Same irrelevent nonsense in both and in fairness given the league recently, if Kareoke king is the most embarrassing thing MNS can show/say then we're doing well.
    They always cheat, they always lie
    **** Delaney and the FAI

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Red4Eva View Post
    any1 else notice the caption under tony mcdonnell's name just before the interview with roddy? it said "still uses his old student card to get discounts on cinema tickets"
    As bad as some of the programme is they still produce some nuggets of comedy gold.

Even Mrs Ash, who wouldnt watch a game if it was in our back garden, picked
    up on Pats being congratulated for Sligos european programme

Roddy "The Malteese Faclon" Collins

49 Posts
    enjoyed the show last night, thought the showgrounds and terryland looked really well on camera. behans goal should win goal of the month this time i think. thought the kareoke bit was funny with the bohs lads.

Think Lesters goal will get it!Saying that though they did leave out Mickey Daly's goal down in Cork when he lobbed it intot he net from an acuate angle at the edge of the box!

I thought Gary Deegan's sending off was very harsh.

GOTM is between Behan and Byrne for me

38 Posts
    Having just seen the highlights, am I the only one who found aspects of Vllaznia's performance a little bit...odd? Celebrations were conspicuously muted when the second goal (an own goal, remember) went in, they didn't appeal the penalty decision, and then the keeper thumps someone in the box for no reason and his replacement stands rooted to the line for the second penalty.

They seemed very keen to win, but not necessarily 2-0...
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

49 Posts
    the defending for the first goal was very poor and i dont know how they got mixed up for the second one. seemed unlucky with the chances. if we could get an early goal then who knows...maybe.

Quote Originally Posted by Duggie View Post
    the defending for the first goal was very poor and i dont know how they got mixed up for the second one. seemed unlucky with the chances. if we could get an early goal then who knows...maybe.
    Drogheda lost 2-1 at home to Dynamo Kiev last year and were a kick away from knocking them out. Sligo still have a great chance.
    I'm a 23yr old right-handed heterosexual who drinks milk and likes democracy. - dcfcsteve knows me well

49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Umberside View Post
    Drogheda lost 2-1 at home to Dynamo Kiev last year and were a kick away from knocking them out. Sligo still have a great chance.
    well drogheda were a much better outfit last year in fairness, very tough to crack. didnt concede to many silly goals.

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    Having just seen the highlights, am I the only one who found aspects of Vllaznia's performance a little bit...odd? Celebrations were conspicuously muted when the second goal (an own goal, remember) went in, they didn't appeal the penalty decision, and then the keeper thumps someone in the box for no reason and his replacement stands rooted to the line for the second penalty.

Absolutely. I followed the betting in running for the whole game.
    With 5 mins to go, you could get 13/10 or more on under 2.5 goals (i.e. no more goals) which is crazily high, would normally expect about 1/4 or less.

At HT, with the game at 0-0, over 2.5 was very short odds also, compared to what the odds would normally be.

This was with asian bookies where money taken influences the price changes as much if not more than form or performance.

I'm sure you've heard the fix rumours before the game... about 700k matched on betfair on Sligo

My theory .. and that of a lot of other gamblers is Vllaznia tried to throw the game ...evident by their lack of tackling and general slowness in the 1st half when Sligo attacked. By fluke they scored from a long range shot, .then when Sligo scored the OG there followed very muted celebration...another fluke they could not go and concede 3 deliberate goals and have the weight of UEFA breathing down on them for match fixing. So they got somebody to heavily back over 2.5 goals to recover some of what they lost due to Sligo not being able to take the chances handed to them on a plate, gave away 1 peno which Sligo missed (not a save though!), then gave away an absolutely ridiculous 2nd peno..and when I saw the keeper not budge on MNS last night my mind was made up!
    Last edited by eL Bettor; 07/07/2009 at 11:44 AM.

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post

Didnt get to see the highlights iof the game on MNS, but from where I was perched on Thursday heres what I saw of those incodents

Celebrations for the 1st goal

They appealed the 1st peno ...
    with the lino

and with the ref
    Last edited by Ash; 07/07/2009 at 11:42 AM.

30 Posts
    Peno came off the bar and from what Im told it was the 1st peno Keane hit high all season

Keeper thumped yer man on account of this challenge

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Great finish by Alan Keane. Quality.

How are things in the 1st division??

3,215 Posts
    In fairness, the celebrations for the second are very quiet (or maybe it's just the one lad in picture who had himself at 10/1 to score, or is possibly breaking his sh!te at one of the most ridiculous own goals I've ever seen), and late challenge or not, the sending off was utterly retarded.

The betting figures are interesting though, even if the rest is speculation to fit the theory.

Brilliant last night