Thread: Shels VS Limerick

Shels VS Limerick

Just in the Door and I really am delighted, but I'd just like to point out the crap that went on afterwards.

We were kept in afterwards, and then stuff started getting thrown over the wall at us. Then when we left, a load of little scumbags (I'm not even sure if they were at the game) were waiting at the entrance to the bus and train station, which is right outside the ground. They started throwing bottles and other stuff at us and then a Shels fan got a smack of a hurley to the back of the head.

It was my first trip to Jackman Park, and I must say that has to be the worst ground in the league.

Anyway, I'd just like to ask have any other fans ever gotten this treatment outside Jackman?

First off...

We had St.Pats down here last week & there was not one bit of trouble... Wonder Why

2nd

Limerick do not own the ground they are renting so they cannot do what they want to the ground, also we are not from Dublin so we do not have the backing of the FAI....

3rd

Since you were with the shels fans i presume you were not for the fans signing about Stab City ??????

4th

When limerick got the Pen..Did or didnt you shels fans not catch a bin & turn it upside down & start trowing bottles at Dave Ryan in the Limerick Goal,

5th

When the sewerts asked you to stay in you area until the Limerick fans were gone. you dicided to push the barriers & have a go at a stewart & jump onto the field to get around him ?????

If you want any sympyhty your not goinig to get it. because as i said to a decient shels fan who can down just to watch the match . people who look for it ??????

Quote Originally Posted by Shelsred View Post
    Just in the Door and I really am delighted, but I'd just like to point out the crap that went on afterwards.

We were kept in afterwards, and then stuff started getting thrown over the wall at us. Then when we left, a load of little scumbags (I'm not even sure if they were at the game) were waiting at the entrance to the bus and train station, which is right outside the ground. They started throwing bottles and other stuff at us and then a Shels fan got a smack of a hurley to the back of the head.

It was my first trip to Jackman Park, and I must say that has to be the worst ground in the league.

Anyway, I'd just like to ask have any other fans ever gotten this treatment outside Jackman?
    Same c@!p goes on at Tolka, mate of mine got a box outside the ground 2 years ago for no bloody reason as a little scumbag ran across the road and hit him. Your goign to get that anywhere you go its not just in Limerick but I must say though with all the trouble with our fans at the start of the season, things have really quietend down lately for the good of the club.

Anytime Dundalk fans have gone to jackman pk nothing has happend outside.
    Ian Fosters Black & White army

The Home of football is oriel!

The game was hyped up by a senior member of the Limerick club in the local paper during the week as being an expected 'explosive match' and referring to imagined 'bad mouthing' of him by the Shelbourne manager, Dermot Keely.

This story was rehashed in the Herald later.

Can't have helped.

Quote Originally Posted by Enruoblehs View Post
    The game was hyped up by a senior member of the Limerick club in the local paper during the week as being an expected 'explosive match' and referring to imagined 'bad mouthing' of him by the Shelbourne manager, Dermot Keely.

This story was rehashed in the Herald later.

Can't have helped.
    Exactly. That interview was a joke and shows poor judgement on his part.
    They always cheat, they always lie
    **** Delaney and the FAI

[quote=trueblue09;1180827]
    also we are not from Dublin so we do not have the backing of the FAI....
    quote]

Em I really hope your not trying to say that Shels have the backing of the F.A.I, because if you are you really are clueless.

Happens everywhere, our bus got pelted with stones coming out of Dalymount yesterday. Happens, unfortunately in The Showgrounds too, little *****s threw stones at the Bohs supporters earlier in the season.

Yea Scully truely is a c*nt. That stuff he said about Dermot Keely was complete tripe, he just wanted to get a bit of publicity. Also Tony Sheridan doesn't like him so I don't see how anyone can?

Quote Originally Posted by trueblue09 View Post
    First off...

We had St.Pats down here last week & there was not one bit of trouble... Wonder Why
    What has the Pats match got to do with any of this?

2nd

Limerick do not own the ground they are renting so they cannot do what they want to the ground, also we are not from Dublin so we do not have the backing of the FAI....
    Can limerick afford to do anything with the ground anyway? How do Dublin clubs get the backing of the FAI anymore then anywhere else? Please explain.
    3rd

Since you were with the shels fans i presume you were not for the fans signing about Stab City ??????
    And I presume you didnt agree with the Limerick fans singing about Shels fans being junkies? Personally I dont see the problem there its just fans singing its meant to annoy the opposing fans but it dosent give fans the right to fight about it.
    4th

When limerick got the Pen..Did or didnt you shels fans not catch a bin & turn it upside down & start trowing bottles at Dave Ryan in the Limerick Goal,
    That did happen and theres no defence for it. The Shels fans who did that were rightly kicked out of the ground and it was unacceptable.

5th

When the sewerts asked you to stay in you area until the Limerick fans were gone. you dicided to push the barriers & have a go at a stewart & jump onto the field to get around him ?????
    You seem to be suggesting all Shels fans did this. A couple of Shels fans pushed the barriers alright but I didnt see anybody threatening the stewards. The person who ran onto the pitch to get out only did that when the stewards were about to let us out anyway so it could have been worse.

If you want any sympyhty your not goinig to get it. because as i said to a decient shels fan who can down just to watch the match . people who look for it ??????
    Nobodys looking for sympathy, the point is to highlight there was trouble at the match and try and determine why this happened.
    You have completely ignored the fact that Limerick fans were throwing bottles over the wall at our crowd and the fact that Limerick fans waited at the station where our bus was parked. If thats not looking to cause trouble I dont know what is.
    Personally I thought the stewards were very good and handled things well. Theres no point trying to justify what Limerick fans were doing by saying Shels fans were looking for trouble. It dosent make it alright.

Jeez lads in comparison to the treatment we've got from your little knackers in Tolka it was handbags! Like a lot of trouble thats caused at LOI games it involves scumbags who were never at the game in the first place.
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams

445 Posts

Down there last week for the cup, no problems

I watched what happened at the front of the station and it was unpleasant enough to be fair. The smoke bombs had pretty much cleared by the time the Shels fans arrived too... I do appreciate you acknowledging that the group of local scrotes involved weren't at the game. In the last couple of weeks the club has really gotten it's act together regarding stewarding in the ground. The majority of those involved aren't allowed into the ground.

I don't think it's fair to blame the club for what happens outside the ground tbh. For me there's plenty of scope for the cops to do more. Those in the ground had taken off long before the end of the game when that's one of the few times their presence might actually be beneficial and it took them ages to respond given the whole thing happened in front of one of their cameras. Their response (one car, 2 women cops and one rotund guy) was fairly insubstantial too.

I sympathise for any innocent party caught up in the whole thing and it's something that should be looked at in future (perhaps support with a reputation for trouble in Limerick could get a police escort to their transport home or some such) but I genuinely don't think that Limerick FC can be held accountable for something that happens away from the ground. Stuff being thrown over the wall on the other hand should be stamped out fairly sharpish.

Quote Originally Posted by LK37oldskool View Post
    Jeez lads in comparison to the treatment we've got from your little knackers in Tolka it was handbags! Like a lot of trouble thats caused at LOI games it involves scumbags who were never at the game in the first place.
    This isn't a game of oneupsmanship, as i said it happens everywhere not just Limerick, but don't dare try make light of it either

Try tell the young lad who got a bang of a hurl in the head it was handbags and i'm sure he'll disagree or try tell it to the middle aged women who got hit with a brick, and for whom an ambulance was called and i'll sure she'll disagree (i must point out that she didn' need too much assistance from the ambulance men)
    They always cheat, they always lie
    **** Delaney and the FAI

Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    Down there last week for the cup, no problems
    Have to say that Pats were excellent visitors too.

Unfortunately this thread simply illustrates the futility of posting anything remotely serious on foot.ie

You won't get any serious or interested debate. Just numpties saying "Well, you're from Dublin so stick it up yer h*le!"

If it's true that it was Doc's ma who had the ambulance called for her injury then I sincerely hope she's okay, and that this incident won't put herself and the husband off traveling to watch the Reds and their son play.

Just so you know sadloserkid, I was trying to do the exact opposite of blame the club for it.

And can someone actually explain to me what happened when ya's were down here, and was it this season or last season??

Quote Originally Posted by GalwayRed

That did happen and theres no defence for it. The Shels fans who did that were rightly kicked out of the ground and it was unacceptable.
    The culprit was pointed out by a Shelbourne supporter and two members of the Shels Board of Management escorted himself and his two friends to the gates and instructed the stewards there that they were not to be readmitted.

26 Posts
    Here's a video of the match to enjoy! (Or not if you're a Limerick fan)

http://vimeo.com/5251656
    ShelsTV.com | SSDG.ie | @shelstv | @shelsfc

john@shelstv.com

The mad scientist in me says "yes".

I'm sorry to hear that people got hurt and i in no way condone what those knackers did but in the 3 seasons we've been in jackman Park the only games we've had trouble at is the Shels match's.I dont know if its an element you bring down or if its knackers that come out of the woodwork down here for those games but that is a sad fact. i really think that the gardai are not doing a good enough job if they could'nt escort ye back to the station safetly.This is the only fixture i wont bring my wife and kid to.
    Last edited by LK37oldskool; 21/06/2009 at 11:14 AM.
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams