Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick FC set to be wound up

There is a severe lack of official information coming out of Limerick FC regarding this story and their proposed money-spinning friendlies.

2,629 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    And on a personal level, it would be absolutely ****ing typical of pats to be knocked out of the FAI Cup to a team taht couldn't play in the next round...
    its so crazy it might just happen..... 0-0...

2,629 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    its so crazy it might just happen..... 0-0...
    sorry Limerick fans...

FAI take lead in LOI fundraiser issue...

It hardly needs to be said that LOI clubs are skint, with little hope of steady income streams. Athlone Town "filled" Lisseywoolen witha Sunderland game, helped them out for a little while, but my idea is this::::

Instead of allowing a single club to host a glamour tie that make a few bob that'll last a season (i say few due to stadium capacity limitations) could FAI have a LOI representative side play the likes of Real/Barce/Liverpool and divide proceeds to league?

Real V Munster LOI selection raising money for Limerick, Cork City, improving regional facilities, and play it in Thomond, not turners cross, and get 3 times the gate??

Barca visit dublin and play a Leinster selection, you'd fill aviva with it!! make it an annual thing with different high profile clubs Inter/Juve/Bayern...

Just an idea....

FAI need to something before we lose more clubs... Dublin City/Kilkenny/Cobh
    "as always i will be focused on coaching and training my team" Rafa B

Quote Originally Posted by olegunnar View Post
    It hardly needs to be said that LOI clubs are skint, with little hope of steady income streams. Athlone Town "filled" Lisseywoolen witha Sunderland game, helped them out for a little while, but my idea is this::::

Instead of allowing a single club to host a glamour tie that make a few bob that'll last a season (i say few due to stadium capacity limitations) could FAI have a LOI representative side play the likes of Real/Barce/Liverpool and divide proceeds to league?

Real V Munster LOI selection raising money for Limerick, Cork City, improving regional facilities, and play it in Thomond, not turners cross, and get 3 times the gate??

Barca visit dublin and play a Leinster selection, you'd fill aviva with it!! make it an annual thing with different high profile clubs Inter/Juve/Bayern...

Just an idea....

I think this is a good idea and the money split between clubs would be very valuable to those struggling.

and a Sligo/ Derry/ Finn harps/ Mons selection play AC Milan in windsor park.

1,081 Posts
    The FAI doesn't care if more clubs go out of business as long as they're the "right" clubs e.g Us, Monaghan, Kildare, UCD, Cobh etc. They'd be quite happy with about 10 "successful" ideally full time teams with the rest all amateurs and feeding into the nearest big club from the more heavily populated areas. There's less of a drain on their resources then. See the number of times Padraig Smith has said he feels some clubs should consider if they belong in senior soccer and how he feels more clubs will do a Kilkenny City.

Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    and a Sligo/ Derry/ Finn harps/ Mons selection play AC Milan in windsor park.
    So Derry v AC Milan at Windsor then.
    DCFC

Quote Originally Posted by pól-dcfc View Post
    So Derry v AC Milan at Windsor then.
    Ah now shnake.

I'm the Viper
    DCFC

I'm the Viper
    Mine is named the Octagon.

Top show. Perfectly captures the reality of culchie life.
    DCFC

Top show. Perfectly captures the reality of Donegal life.
    Fixed that for you.

aahhhh the wit!

433 Posts
    Ah now shnake.
    The only shnakes you know are shnakes and ladders!!
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

Lazy Journalism I think.

Limerick will be grand. Don't ye worry
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

Quote Originally Posted by L37Ultra View Post
    Lazy Journalism
    Like the Irish Times saying Barrett and Tierney wouldnt be playing against Pats (and they did) and forgetting about Purcell, Lyons, and Cummins before making a snide remark about a 'stand'. 300 covered seats not a stand then?

However, make no mistake, we're in the **** big time.

205 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by olegunnar View Post

Just an idea....

and how do the FAI get Real/Barce/Liverpool, or Inter/Juve/Bayern to come to Ireland to play these matches? Those clubs have to get some of that money too... there won't be much left after for one club, nevermind if its divided up between the clubs in the region. If there is alot of money after everyone has ben paid, out of the Leinster region match for example the Dublin Clubs will want more money (except UCD) because they are Premier Division clubs and have to pay more money to their players, managers, and backroom staff. The FAI will oblige becuse they are stones', and the First Division clubs will get even less, widening the gap between the two divisions.
    Sporting F*ck All!

Good points...

Real are over this summer, and are hardly being paid for the match they will play. So FAI takes a lead in marketing Ireland as a pre-season training destination, maybe with Bord Failte/Ministry of Sport?

If you can get 4k-5k to watch Sunderland, surely you could multiply that by 5 if you got a top club? With clubs looking to keep costs down, Ireland would be a good destination for Sporting/Benfica/Valencia/Ajax etc

In order to reduce disputes between clubs over money, a business plan is set up to organise dividing the profits. Everyone knows how much they get in advance, like progressing through Setanta cup. Stage 2 BIG matches a year, put them on RTE??

Think outside the box people!!! sorry, people in FAI!!! as they need to do SOMETHING
    "as always i will be focused on coaching and training my team" Rafa B

473 Posts
    Sorry to continue the derail, but...

How about organising a pre-season tournament, like Ajax's Amsterdam tournament, with decent-sized European clubs, like Lyon, PSV, Atletico Madrid, Everton, Aston Villa etc., and a LOI select playing. Play the matches either at Lansdowne, or split between Lansdowne and Thomond. Split the profits between the league clubs.

If there was an average attendance of 25000, at €20 a ticket, that's half a million a game, so with 8 teams, 2 groups, semis and a final, that's 9 games, or 4.5 million, less expenses, to split among the clubs, or just over 200 000 a club.

That's just conjecture at figures, but I don't think there'd be a club in the league who'd turn their noses up at 20 000 even, so it could be well worth a shot.

Market it to the event junkies as a massive event with top European sides and I don't see any reason why there couldn't be those sorts of attendance figures at that sort of price.

Mind you, clubs would probably just juggle their budgets so they were still going bust with the extra money!

Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast