Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Drogheda United ban 6 of it's supporters.

Drogheda United ban 6 of it's supporters.

Six Drogheda United supporters have been banned from United Park after the club was forced to pay six seperate fines relating fans bad behaviour.

Flags and banners will also be prohibited with immediate effect, after flares hiddin in them were smuggled into the ground for the recent home game against dundalk.

Chairman Jim McArdle said Drogheda were forced to act, not only on safety grounds, but because the club could not afford to kepp paying for the misguided actions of a few.

'We have had at least six fines totaling about 1,200euro this season from the FAI disciplinary committee, and we are facing more for the two incidents in the Dundalk match - The letting off of flares and the raising of an offensive banner.

'We had a meeting with our event control people and have identified six of those who let off flares, resisted stewards who tried to take them off people or would not follow directions of stewards after the game.

'One of our stewards was assaulted, and we have also had complaints from ordinary Drogheda fans about bad language and offensive chanting.
    'We might ask them to pay the fine before they are allowed back in.
    I always enjoyed the Drog lectures on fan behaviour!!
    Neale Fenn on retiring: 'I think once you finish you might as well finish rather than making all sorts of comebacks.'

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SMorgan View Post
    Well at least they are doing something about their fans. What have Dundalk done about the scum element attached to your club?

Its quite obvious Dave Rogers' arse was a more pressing issue for your board.
    Last edited by Olander; 28/05/2009 at 12:11 PM. Reason: Spelling mistake
    roddy collins you're a flanker you're a flanker!

Quote Originally Posted by SMorgan View Post
    Fair play to Drogs on taking this stance. 20 or so Dundalk fans kicked lumps out of a few Galway fans. Seemed that the minibus was identified and all yet what was done about it? Sweet FA

Banning people for bringing in flares is excessive imo. A few years ago it was the norm. Granted clubs can't afford the fines, so it makes more sense imo to give the offenders the choice of paying the fine or taking a ban.

Banning flags and banners is ridiculous, how about just getting stewards to actually do their jobs and look through the flags coming in rather than an outright ban. Offensive banners? Come off the stage, God forbid you offend your fiercest rivals in a football game...

Banning flags and banners sounds a bit extreme though.
    DCFC

In the financial situation their in there should have been no flares let off knowing that there was fines coming afterwards. Obviously the right decision from the board knowing they cant afford fines for stuff like pyro at games.

Banning flags and banners though? That does seem a bit much though.

Quote Originally Posted by pól-dcfc View Post
    Banning flags and banners sounds a bit extreme though.
    It is but they've no money and can't afford to take a chance. Feel sorry for any genuine Drogs fan barred

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    It is but they've no money and can't afford to take a chance.
    Then get their security to search properly. Flags are not the only way to get flares in either .If people want to get flares in they will, Banning flags won't change that.

What will change it is an 'pay the fine or be banned' appraoch and maybe even just coming straight out and appealing to the lads not to do it.

BTW a couple of Pats fans had the best idea I've ever seen for smuggling flares in. They opened normal sized bags of popcorn, put the flares in and then re-sealed with one of those hand held things you can buy in supermarkets.

I wa disgusted we never thought of this and for years had been sticking them down our trouser legs

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    And for using bad language!!!!

BTW a couple of Pats fans had the best idea I've ever seen for smuggling flares in. They opened normal sized bags of popcorn, put the flares in and then re-sealed with one of those hand held things you can buy in supermarkets.

I wa disgusted we never thought of this and for years had been sticking them down our trouser legs
    That's that method busted.

I can just see it: Stewards: hey you, is that a popcorn in your pocket or are you just pleased to see me!
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

221 Posts
    I feel sorry for the Drogs here. The Drogs lads have been making a great effort at creating an atmosphere with banners etc. Their giant Dundalk related banner is peurile and tasteless but very well executed and gets a reaction.

Obviously assaulting stewards is not on, and using flares is so 2005, (everyone knows your going to get the club fined) but a bit of cop on from both sides would not go astray.

And as someone else said, offensive banner my arse! (or Dave Rogers' arse for that matter)

NO AL CALCIO MODERNO

49 Posts
    club goes banrupt over 1200 euro fines...

That'll be popcorn and trousers banned from Drogheda now.

It is but they've no money and can't afford to take a chance. Feel sorry for any genuine Drogs fan barred
    They don't sound too genuine raising offensive banners and/or resisting stewards advice, they certainly cant be "genuine" knowing the situatino the club are in financially and what repercussions (monetary) their actions have.

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    That'll be popcorn and trousers banned from Drogheda now.
    So maybe Rodgers was ahead of his time!

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    They don't sound too genuine raising offensive banners
    Whatever about the rest of your post but is this part serious?

Genuine football fans now don't try to offend their rivals?

If something like this happened in Italy the fans would retract their banners and not hold them up, looks like the club are doing that for them. Fans shouldn't take this lying down.

That a club like Drogheda that was so dependant on its fans before this season started with regards fundraising et all could alienate their fans like this speaks volumes about the league. Was any attempt made to consult with fans over this? Is it any wonder people get so disillusioned with this league? FFS.

in my opinion there is absolutely no place for bad language, banners or offensive chanting in football grounds. id much prefer to be able to sit and watch the football match in peace rather than have these bad pups creating such an antisocial atmosphere fair play to the drogheda board

Why are banners now so offensive? They add colour and banter to a game and create an atmosphere.
    You've got no fans.

Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast