Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Drogheda United ban 6 of it's supporters.

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red View Post
    How many times have the FAI used flares themselves for Cup finals and that?!

well i highly doubt they ran into the stand and let flares off there during the cup final which i can only assume is why the ban originated, a health and safety thing

If you can't see the difference then you're just stupid. Having flares in a crowd of people is completely different than flares used in sand buckets at the side of the pitch with safety personnel on hand.
    DCFC

Quote Originally Posted by mandrake View Post
    exactly, what is the problem anyway, the fai are really BIG inot no flares, although i didnt see them wading into too many polish fans in november ...it was funny about 3 were seized and then loads went off in the middle and the 'fai gestapo'...oh i mean stewards gave up (will i be found out by the fai and banned from games for this comment)
    That because there afraid and the Gardaí and stewards no they can't be heavy handed with away teams like Poland where they will all try help get the people back in. In Ireland we have the fans that nearly point you out for lighting a flare.

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    This is why every club should have a family section, so the kids don't have to listen to it but the rest don't have to watch everything they say.
    Without trumpets and mindless drum banging

Quote Originally Posted by corkboy360 View Post
    God forbid someone created a ****ing atmosphere

nobody needs that kind of atmosphere it means you cant concentrate 100% on the match what with all that noise and worrying about a flag or flare hitting you in the head and making you completely blind.

Quote Originally Posted by topia View Post

nobody needs that kind of atmosphere it means you cant concentrate 100% on the match what with all that noise and worrying about a flag or flare hitting you in the head and making you completely blind.
    Why how many people in Ireland have got a flare or flag to the head which resulted in the losing of an eye and if your worrying about you could just move.

i think you should look that up, the statistics speak for themselves,
    my uncle in fact was partially blinded and lost the tip of his little finger in the early 80s in a nasty flare related incident. they were rife at that time before the ban came in.

well i highly doubt they ran into the stand and let flares off there during the cup final which i can only assume is why the ban originated, a health and safety thing
    Quote Originally Posted by pól-dcfc View Post
    If you can't see the difference then you're just stupid. Having flares in a crowd of people is completely different than flares used in sand buckets at the side of the pitch with safety personnel on hand.
    Both of you miss the point. Flares are banned (I don't think they should) yet the FAI were guilty of using them for cup finals. Regardless of them being lit on or off the pitch, they are prohibited anywhere in the gound.
    Who Cares?!

433 Posts
    You would put something idiotic past the FAI? More fool you....
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red View Post
    Both of you miss the point. Flares are banned (I don't think they should) yet the FAI were guilty of using them for cup finals. Regardless of them being lit on or off the pitch, they are prohibited anywhere in the gound.

its not relly missing the point though, i mean i understand what you are saying but its like everything else they are allowed in a controlled environment just not in a stand full of people. its a bit like fireworks being illegal but you can still get a licence for fireworks displays

Flares ?
    Confetti is banned in Turners Cross
    But that just our circus of stewards running around like headless chickens.
    Although this year the FORAS lads who are volunteering have brought a small bit of a common sense factor in.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Black and White View Post
    .... with the FAI taken action against our Palestinian Flag which had been at the ground for more than 7 years!
    Quote Originally Posted by pól-dcfc View Post
    But they didn't did they? It was all just made up.

You're right Pol in that the FAI did not take any action, and some internet media got the specifcs wrong.

But it was real alright; during the Sligo V Dundalk game the FAI match delegate told the Dundalk chairman, Padraig McGowan, that he regarded the said banner as racist and that he would be reporting it as such.
    Last edited by Ezeikial; 29/05/2009 at 2:55 PM. Reason: spelling

Maybe I'm not reading this right, but I'm still none the wiser as to what the offensive banner said. Anyone care to enlighten us (by PM if necessary)?

Incidentally, I brought my daughter into the 'posh' Drogs stand for our first game against them this season. We were in with all the old gents, the suits and the grandees, including, one presumes, the Drogs directors. Collectively, they were more potty-mouthed than Section G in the Jodi. We were both appalled.
    Last edited by BohDiddley; 29/05/2009 at 1:35 PM. Reason: sarcasm detection deficiency protection

Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley View Post
    Maybe I'm not reading this right, but I'm still none the wiser as to what the offensive banner said. Anyone care to enlighten us (by PM if necessary)?

Incidentally, I brought my daughter into the 'posh' Drogs stand for our first game against them this season. We were in with all the old gents, the suits and the grandees, including, one presumes, the Drogs directors. Collectively, they were more potty-mouthed than Section G in the Jodi. We were both appalled.

Quote Originally Posted by dfclilywhite View Post
    Are you serious? f*ck me the standard of offensive is getting dragged down there.

57 Posts
    Spelt diarrhoea wrong

That's worth a banning in itself - going for the Yankee version of the word
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Quote Originally Posted by dfclilywhite View Post
    Now that is quite offensive.
    I'm a 23yr old right-handed heterosexual who drinks milk and likes democracy. - dcfcsteve knows me well

How is it?

Nothing wrong with it, used to **** off the enemy and it seemed to have done a very good job of it. FAI are clowns for even contemplating the idea of fining them for this.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Umberside View Post
    Now that is quite offensive.
    Quote Originally Posted by ARooney28 View Post
    How is it?

Nothing wrong with it, used to **** off the enemy and it seemed to have done a very good job of it. FAI are clowns for even contemplating the idea of fining them for this.
    Whats offensive to one person may not be offensive to the next.

It really doesn't take a whole lot of objectivity to understand how some may regard this as being offensive and possibly an incitment to confrontation.

While I personally don't find it in any way offensive (and really well made), it is in poor taste. When other sports fans query why segregation is necessary is Irish soccer (but not in rugby or GAA) they only need look to banners like this to understand the negative tribalist ethos that exists.

Good humour and banter between fans adds to the experience; insults and provocation does not.

Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post

Good humour and banter between fans adds to the experience; insults and provocation does not.
    They are yer fiercest rivals and they outdone ye
    Get over it.

I for one think the F45U have done the best displays in the last season and a bit and its a shame they will have no more.

433 Posts
    They are yer fiercest rivals and they outdone ye
    Get over it.
    They outdone us with banners...Oh No....Wait..Who cares?
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast