Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Best LOI chants

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pól-dcfc View Post
    Do you think many will come down?
    Doubt it, maybe 10 or 15 at most but who knows.

Is it confirmed for the Brandywell yet or an alternative venue.

Shamrock Rovers used to sing one about Liam Coyle playing for Norn Ireland and wearing a bowler Hat, always found it quite amusing, even though it became hypocritical when Feeney was playing up front for them.

Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    Doubt it, maybe 10 or 15 at most but who knows.

Is it confirmed for the Brandywell yet or an alternative venue.
    According to our forum i's the Brandy.

I'm heading up to a Development meeting tonight, so I'll ask around and give you a pm later to confirm.
    DCFC

In the pub at Turners cross 2nd last game of the season both going for the last Euro spot, anyway Cork fans are giving us pelters "who are ya" etc etc and one of our lads starts a song "80 years and we've got one name 80 years and we got one name". Cork lads had no response to that, fair play though seen the funny side of it themselves.

When we played shels last yr in Tolka Park they were top of the league and we started singing " Top of the league your having a laugh "
    Ian Fosters Black & White army

The Home of football is oriel!

Quote Originally Posted by Dundalkjames View Post
    When we played shels last yr in Tolka Park they were top of the league and we started singing " Top of the league your having a laugh "

That really is one of the great LoI chants.

I hope you're taking the hand...
    DCFC

One the funniest ive ever heard was when we were playing Cork in the League Cup last year at Turners Cross.

It was on the same night as the Champions League semi-final and it was one of the worst crowds ive ever seen at a LOI game but the Cork fans started singing to the Limerick fans "Whats it like to see a crowd?.."

Funny thing about it was they were being serious I think !!
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

101 Posts
    This relates more to a funny comment than a chant:

In Milltown , Rovers playing Bohs, we're one nil up and it's the last minute....

Bohs launch on last desperate attack.. a character in the Rovers crowd shouts "... if they score now I'll eat me mickey..."

Bohs equalise and there is a stunned silence in the Rovers end..then cue a lone voice heard saying...".. pass the salt..." the place cracked up with laughter.

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Calcio Jack View Post

In Milltown , Rovers playing Bohs, we're one nil up and it's the last minute....

Bohs launch on last desperate attack.. a character in the Rovers crowd shouts "... if they score now I'll eat me mickey..."

Bohs equalise and there is a stunned silence in the Rovers end..then cue a lone voice heard saying...".. pass the salt..." the place cracked up with laughter.
    Johnny Reynor the scorer?

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dalymountrower View Post
    Johnny Reynor the scorer?
    Yep, Milltown Road end circa 1985 ( I think)

When we played UCD in the cup we started singing "We all went to Trinity"

1,081 Posts
    When we play Athlone, sometimes our fans chant "We hate Athlone". Cracks me up.

47 Posts
    We will have to change it to "We hate Athlone A"
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

1,081 Posts
    We are the Portlaoise haters.

Quote Originally Posted by dfclilywhite View Post
    When we played UCD in the cup we started singing "We all went to Trinity"
    Remember that, one of very few original UCD related chants.

24 Posts
    The "shoes off if you love the youths has got us some publicity". Also use all the usual songs saints go marching in etc but adjusted to Youths.

A few new one this year based around Wexford rebel songs. I personally like the one based on the tune of only fools and horses

Stash of money in his pocket
    With a football on his van
    If you want the best and you don't ask questions
    Then Wallace is yer man

Cause where it all comes from is a mystery
    Dolan 'n' O'Connor as his backroom team

hes the one thats given us some pride
    Wer the Youths from Wexford
    From the Slaneyside
    nananana nana nana nananana nana nana
    And Miles To Go Before We Sleep

447 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by L37Ultra View Post
    One the funniest ive ever heard was when we were playing Cork in the League Cup last year at Turners Cross.

It was on the same night as the Champions League semi-final and it was one of the worst crowds ive ever seen at a LOI game but the Cork fans started singing to the Limerick fans "Whats it like to see a crowd?.."

Funny thing about it was they were being serious I think !!
    that was a great night, that and you can shove your champions league up your hole

Quote Originally Posted by Calcio Jack View Post

A gem in a pile of excrement! Quality sir

He hates the reds
    he sent us down
    he takes it up the ****en brown

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Derry fans to Pats fans in 2007 season re previous FAI Cup final.

"1-0 and you ****ed it up,
    2-1 and you ****ed it up,
    3-2 and you ****ed it up,
    4-3 and we won the cup!"

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast