Page 4 of 11 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Your club's worst signing?

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sligofan4ever View Post
    Didn't he insult Galway united fans when ye played us last season at the Showgrounds ?
    He gave us the one fingered salute.

537 Posts
    I never knew that Martin O 'Neill could have bein a Limerick boss all those years ago. Our worst ever buys over the last ten years were Robbie Martin( poor value for 10k),Andy Myler( even though he was top scorer for one season), Robbie Farrell, David Freeman( for walkin out on us to go to america when we were in the fai cup final after the club lookin after him)

sini savic, ian wexler, david freeman

1,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Flea View Post
    sini savic, ian wexler, david freeman
    Don't let the Sligo lads see that!. He did his best and he was inexpensive too. He'd be a decent First Division player. Agree wth Freeman though and I've mentioned Savic already.

290 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Midget Gem View Post
    Thiam must get another mention. He was laughable. Utter rubbish. I know i am a Sligo fan but i seen this fella play about 6-7 times and he was behond bad. Didn't Drogs pay a fee for him as well? No wonder they went under.
    2008 Signing of the Season on Football Manager 2009.

George O'Callaghan was a terrible buy last year and put the whole ship off course. Dave Mulcahy came as well, and by August he was shoutin' and roarin' at Mathews and soon after got his contract terminated.
    I'm a 23yr old right-handed heterosexual who drinks milk and likes democracy. - dcfcsteve knows me well

Had forgotten about Freeman and Keddy (last season). Two of the most despicable characters ever to don a red jersey. If I seen either of those two sprinting I'd probably take convincing that I hadn't slipped into a parallel universe. Muck

I know Thiam did pretty poorly a lot of the time he played but I thought he really changed that second leg in the CL when he came on against Dinamo Kyiv.

My vote for worst Bray signing would probably be Stephen Gough around 2007. I remember actually being surprised when he did something good once. He almost always played crap or average. Don't remember him ever playing a good game. He just made so many mistakes.

Also, Ciaran Ryan was pretty poor.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    I know Thiam did pretty poorly a lot of the time he played but I thought he really changed that second leg in the CL when he came on against Dinamo Kyiv.

My vote for worst Bray signing would probably be Stephen Gough around 2007. I remember actually being surprised when he did something good once. He almost always played crap or average. Don't remember him ever playing a good game. He just made so many mistakes.

Also, Ciaran Ryan was pretty poor.
    In fairness when Ryaner first signed for us he had about 3 or 4 great seasons, think he just lost interest coming towards the end of his time with us hence why he gave it up.

For my 2 cent one of the worst players ever to wear a Bray jersey was your man O'Brien who came from Waterford a few years back. Truely awful ! Stuart Holt was shocking as well.

Quote Originally Posted by Roo69 View Post
    In fairness when Ryaner first signed for us he had about 3 or 4 great seasons, think he just lost interest coming towards the end of his time with us hence why he gave it up.

For my 2 cent one of the worst players ever to wear a Bray jersey was your man O'Brien who came from Waterford a few years back. Truely awful ! Stuart Holt was shocking as well.
    Who was your man o'brien?? oh yeah haha!! stuart holt!! longfords top man!! think he played for alot of clubs!!
    roddy collins should be a comedian!!

37 Posts
    Neville Steedman in the late 80's. One trick pony.

He had a fruitful time with Rovers before he travelled west. Is it true that he bought a house on the site of the old Glenamalure Park in Milltown?
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

218 Posts
    Yeah we've had a lot of shockers down through the years. Savic was one anyways. And Kevin 'Bobo the Clown' McCormack was a deputy for Digger and had to play one or 2 games cos Digger was suspended and had absolute shockers!!! Jamesie Farrell although ended up joint top scorer in Kenny's first year in charge with 5 goals was still brutal. Don't ask me how he ended up with 5 goals to his name!!! In recent years David Lee is a definite starter in our all time worst 11 and Dean Barrett!!!
    Last edited by Town Legend; 10/04/2009 at 9:24 PM.

1,081 Posts
    Feckin hell, Kevin McCormack. I'd forgotten he ever existed. Yeah he was pretty crap. 'Skim' Farrell, Longford legend. Went to Drogheda after us, I remember him scoring a hat trick for them once. Lives in Engand now I believe.

1,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roo69 View Post
    Stuart Holt was shocking as well.
    He's now living in London and working as a model and is married to a model. Some lads have all the luck. Took a great free kick in his day though.

Holy Moly we have had a serios amount of them!

In no Particular order: Stephen Geoghegan, Alex Nesovic, Keith Dunne, Paul Byrne, Baba Isaaka!, Vinny Perth loads more too!
    Més Que Un Club - More than a Club

Mark Leech- waste of space. He's done Pats a favour breakin his leg.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

218 Posts
    Also Eric Saul, Chris Malone (signed from Blackburn not the Athlone version), Sean Kelly, dare I say 'The Wex'?!!!!, Damien Gannon, ALAN REYNOLDS!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Flawless View Post
    Holy Moly we have had a serios amount of them!

In no Particular order: Stephen Geoghegan, Alex Nesovic, Keith Dunne, Paul Byrne, Baba Isaaka!, Vinny Perth loads more too!
    Would you include any of these: the Trevor Anderson era return of Dessie Gorman, Mick Dempsey, Robbie Brunton,Dessie Baker, James Hand, Stuart Connolly, Andy Noonon(always sent off)!!

433 Posts
    Dessi Baker hardly played for us cnut, what a waste of money that was.

Ahh Keith Dunne, and his only supporter, a certain Mr.Wallace!
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    For me it was Paul Whitmarsh, a plus thirty year old English striker, signed by Pete Mahon from the LSL from Belgrove I think. He scored a winner on his debut against Shamorck Rovers in the League Cup but at all other times he was just so off the pace of the LOI Premier Division. He just wasn't up to the standard. He quickly faded back into the obscurity from whence he came.
    He played for Ramblers too.

But the worst Ramblers player i've ever seen is Brian McCarthy who we got on loan from Bohs last year.......to this day I maintain he was the reason we got relegated. He played 10 games and in those games I think we conceded nearly 20+ goals!
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

Page 4 of 11 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast