Thread: UCD 0-1 Drogheda

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar

UCD 0-1 Drogheda

Summed up by the gob****e who does the report on Drogheda's website:
    A magic injury time goal from Aidan O'Keefe gave the Drogs a fully deserved win at Belfield on what turned out to be a wet night and despite our superhuman efforts and tow woinderful strikes by Robbo we failed to make our superior footbel pay dividends until the last minute, . But three points are three points as the bishop said to the actress and as we wend our way back to Boyneside with the three points clutched to our ample bosoms, we can reflect in the satisfaction that we don't have to go there again this season. Make no mistake about it , this was a good win, we battled hard all through and as time ticked on in the second half, many of us would have settled for a point as the rain lashed down to make a less than salubrious setting look even more miserable than usual. Annyway , I won't go on about this.. I hafta meet the boys below in the Widda's... we're planning the annual Ned Skully memorial match......

I know I'm ramblin' a bit ... , y'see we had a few jugs before and of course Skinner had the dutch gold in the boot for the lomg journey home. that it long when you hafta stop for a hit and miss FOUR times on the way home.

The Clubs first ever Austrailian Greek John Tambouras made an auspicious debut alongside Garto in the middle and showed enough form tonight to show how valuable an acquisition he will be for the Drogs. He is strong and incisive in the tackle and looks very comfortable on the ball... Damian Lynch dropped to the bench and Grayser filled in at left full with Brian Shelley returning to right full . Robbo and Stewie patrolled the middle to great effect and Sami partnered Eamon up front. With James on the left and Gavin on the right, we had a good balanced look about us and it wasn't long before we created our first chance when Sami headed a good Gavin Whelan cross narrowly wide. The interplay between Gavin Whelan, Zayed and Sami deserved better and the heaviness of the pitch was not conducive to close control. James Keddy and Steven Gray played the ball intelligently and on the half hour, a good low shot by Sami was held by the keeper... and we were unlucky not to make the breakthrough before half time.

We came out for the second half and took up where we left off and we suffered from a few poor offside decisions and a number of cynical UCD tackles , but still pressed on. On 67 Aidan O'Keefe replaced Zayed and his pace gave us another dimension and on 75 following some clever interplay Robbo , who gave his usual 140% all through shot 1.5mm wide of the right hand post with the keeper beaten and seven minutes later Robbo hit another stunning shot from the same position only to see it rebound off the foot of the post. Shortly after that Crowley got a deserved red for another bad tackle... and then as time ticked on we had the expected time-delaying tactics from Gregg much to the annoyance of the scrupulously fair-minded Drogs supporters. With 10 to go on came Keego and Tony Grant and as time ticked away Tony in a beautiful piece of skill transferred the ball to James whose shot was beaten away and there was Aidan to send it home !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

And that was all we wanted and outa there we could not wait to get remembering the words of our late friend Tommy Nelis that Purgatory is a wet night in UCD and for 90 minutes it was Purgatory until on 92 we ascended into Heaven. And so dear brethren, here endeth today's lesson (Drogs teach Students) and we will now gird our loins and partake in some liquid refreshment of the amber nectar variety and put a few away in honour our new man John form Down Under. .

its a joke at this stage. its a wonder drogs can get away with this sh1te every week when derry had their legal threats earlier in the season

3,488 Posts
    Told you Drogs would claim they fully deserved the three points their superior football entitled them to.

If it weren't for fecking Oxegen, we'd have drawn that game.

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    its a joke at this stage. its a wonder drogs can get away with this sh1te every week when derry had their legal threats earlier in the season
    Why would they get in trouble over it?

It may be sh1te but there's nothing offensive in it nor are the FAI being slandered

3,488 Posts
    Agree, sadly.

Would like to meet yer man who does those. Don't know how far I'd send him.

There was injury time heart break for the Students as a 93rd minute goal by Aidan O'Keeffe - himself a transfer target for UCD last season - meant a battling home side reduced to ten men ended up with nothing to show for their endeavours.

UCD were hit by a number of absentees, with Ian Bermingham and Shane Fitzgerald injured and Conan Byrne dropped after arriving late, having been stuck in traffic for Oxegen. Paul Byrne returned from suspension, and Ronan Finn returned from injury.

In a quiet first half, neither side had any real chances, although Drogheda's wasteful finishing let them down shortly after the half hour when Zayed, in acres of space, backheeled straight to Matt Gregg in nets from ten yards when he had time to take a touch and get a better opportunity.

The game improved as it wore on, particularly in the second half. A bad error of judgement from Tony McDonnell nearly let Drogs in shortly before the hour, but Stuart Byrne took the ball around Gregg only to fire into the side netting.

The game took two major turns in the last half hour. The first of these was the introduction of Timmy Purcell for Conor Sammon, with UCD reverting to a 4-4-1-1 formation. Shortly after, Finn battled through a couple of Drogheda tackles only to fire straight at Dan Connor in the Drogheda goal, and the home side spent much of the next 15 minutes probing at the visitors' suddenly massed defence.

Drogheda, however, had the best chance of this period when Shane Robinson hit the post from the edge of the area; the loose ball was ultimately tapped home, but correctly ruled out for offside.

However, a minute later came the second turning point when Paul Crowley was sent off for his second yellow - kicking the ball away - and suddenly Drogheda, with their extra man, were spurred on to attack. It looked as if UCD had done enough, however, with some superb last ditch tackles keeping the overall rather disappointing visitors at bay, until the game entered the dying moments. James Keddy broke into the box and shot from close range, Gregg parried well, but O'Keeffe was on hand to tap towards goal, and the ball trickled over the line despite the last-gasp efforts of two UCD defenders.

Overall, a cruel way to lose a match which neither side had really done enough to win, but such is football at times. Also of concern will be imminent suspensions for Paul Crowley and Shane McFaul, the latter picking up his fourth yellow of the season. With ten days to prepare for the next game away to Shamrock Rovers, the Students will suddenly be looking over their shoulders at the bottom four when, just a couple of games ago, the season was looking so promising.

UCD - Gregg; Mahon, Kenna, McNally, McDonnell; Finn (O'Sullivan 87), Doyle, Crowley, McFaul (Shortall 84); Sammon (Purcell 65), P Byrne. Subs not used - Quigley, Forsyth, Shortall.

Att - 726

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dyl10 View Post

It may be sh1te but there's nothing offensive in it nor are the FAI being slandered
    In a league where off the field criteria can determine promotion or relegation you don't there a problem with a club website containing match reports that look like they've been written by an inbred preteen with the last crayon he didn't happen to eat yet?

Drogheda showed great tenacity to dig that win out tonight. Poor game in general, both sides didn't put on a great footballing display.

Is ANY of this appropriate for the official website of a professional football team?

"But three points are three points as the bishop said to the actress and as we wend our way back to Boyneside with the three points clutched to our ample bosoms, we can reflect in the satisfaction that we don't have to go there again this season. "

the rain lashed down to make a less than salubrious setting look even more miserable than usual. Annyway , I won't go on about this.. I hafta meet the boys below in the Widda's... we're planning the annual Ned Skully memorial match......

I know I'm ramblin' a bit ... , y'see we had a few jugs before and of course Skinner had the dutch gold in the boot for the lomg journey home. that it long when you hafta stop for a hit and miss FOUR times on the way home.

we suffered from a few poor offside decisions and a number of cynical UCD tackles

as time ticked on we had the expected time-delaying tactics from Gregg much to the annoyance of the scrupulously fair-minded Drogs supporters.

Purgatory is a wet night in UCD

we will now gird our loins and partake in some liquid refreshment of the amber nectar variety and put a few away in honour our new man John form Down Under.
    Its insulting, both to UCD and to the rest of the league which attempts to portray itself as a burgeoning professional league, rather than posting "lads on the **** wahey" on their homepage.

Bit disappointed are we lads?
    Imagine Paul Doolin is the manager of the team at the top of the league, wouldn't have happened when he was at UCD.

And as for Oxygen ........... tell your man to leave a bit earlier and he might get a game..... Amateurs
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dyl10
    Exactly.

Is your man there for real?

I couldn't get past "tow woinderful strikes" ? Who is this joke?
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

sick to the bone after that result. we battled hard and snuffed out all off the chances they had. I thought alan mcnally was immense at the back alongside kenna,his best game of the season by far. Absolutley sickening.our two front men seen a lot of the ball but couldnt do anything productive with it.
    Anyone know why conan byrne was not playing?

Told you Drogs would claim they fully deserved the three points their superior football entitled them to.
    Ffs stu, how can ye not say we deserved the 3 points?

Seriously I'd usually say if we didnt deserve anything, jus ta draw,etc etc but I genuinely thought we were worthy winners lastnight (though there wasnt much in it)
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Quote Originally Posted by mcglinchey View Post
    Anyone know why conan byrne was not playing?
    He got stuck in traffic and was 2 mins late for the team meeting before the match.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Celdrog View Post

And as for Oxygen ........... tell your man to leave a bit earlier and he might get a game..... Amateurs
    He left over 3 hours before the game. Thems the breaks.

The throw in which ultimately produced Drogheda's winner should have been awarded to UCD. Pete Mahon was livid over it and so was a club official over that and the sending off he confronted the referee on the field at the final whistle. The club could be in trouble over that too.

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie View Post
    The throw in which ultimately produced Drogheda's winner should have been awarded to UCD. Pete Mahon was livid over it and so was a club official over that and the sending off he confronted the referee on the field at the final whistle. The club could be in trouble over that too.
    Is that the one where Gregg kicked it out of play?

No, that was when one of our players was injured and Drogheda didn't give the ball back.

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    No, that was when one of our players was injured and Drogheda didn't give the ball back.
    To be fair, he was more 'injured' than injured.

Quote Originally Posted by Bald Student View Post
    To be fair, he was more 'injured' than injured.
    He went off then didn't he?

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo View Post
    Ffs stu, how can ye not say we deserved the 3 points?

Seriously I'd usually say if we didnt deserve anything, jus ta draw,etc etc but I genuinely thought we were worthy winners lastnight (though there wasnt much in it)
    Both teams were crap. Drogs had more of the ball but couldn't do anything with it. Lucky goal as well and a hint of offside.