Thread: eircom League 2007 Attendances Discussion

eircom League 2007 Attendances Discussion

Quote Originally Posted by Galway Harps View Post
    No. I must admit my previous comment was an alcohol fueled guesstimate.
    Ha ha....lucky u alcohol fueled would have been my preference for last nite, altho those at the ground prob did think I was drunk considering my gaffs on the PA! Still blushing!!!

83 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post
    There was definitely 150+ from Galway at the game.Around 350 in Total.

No surprise it's an Athlone fan who's saying we had 60.Don't be so petty-or else get your eyes checked.

Maybe its just that we have no reason to over estimate attendances

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    Maybe.

On the other hand, how do the real Athlone supporters feel about the effort you put in to getting a widely praised new stadium up and running only for the local rugrats to try to destroy ye're good work?

http://www.elevenaside.com/offthefie...p?newsid=27902
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

74 Posts
    Same Thing Happened to our Supporters Bus at Bucanneers ground last year and Fireworks being fired into our supporters during ther game. The last time I travelled through Athlone on the Train from Dublin a bunch of skangers fired a rock throgh the window of a moving train god know how someone wasnt badly injured or worse.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

83 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MyTown View Post
    Maybe.

On the other hand, how do the real Athlone supporters feel about the effort you put in to getting a widely praised new stadium up and running only for the local rugrats to try to destroy ye're good work?

I think that all of you would know my feelings on that without me posting something here.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Er........All we'd be doing is raising Longfords average attendance not ours.You weren't there so no point getting involved.We made up nearly half the attendance last night with around 150.I would have said more myself.

I think that all of you would know my feelings on that without me posting something here.
    Yes we do.Those ****s are not Athlone supoupporters but are giving ye an unwanted reputation.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by rebelarmyexile View Post
    1500-1800 at Rovers V Cork at Tolka Tonight. Pitch at tolkas lookin well. Something needs to be done bout the security guards there, obnoxious is too polite a word.
    They're crap alright but you do know those flares are banned?

Yes we do.Those ****s are not Athlone supoupporters but are giving ye an unwanted reputation.
    Lads, I know these soundbites are easy to trot out and everything but it's not very helpful.

What Athlone have is a teency weency problem for certain games which could easily be dealt with internally

Sensationalising it isn't going to help anyone

Athlone are getting an unwanted reputation?? Come off it FFS

Amongst whom exactly?? Ask 100 members of the general public the first thing that comes into their head when you mention Athlone. See how many say Football Hooliganism..........

The last time I travelled through Athlone on the Train from Dublin a bunch of skangers fired a rock throgh the window of a moving train god know how someone wasnt badly injured or worse.
    What does that have to do with Athlone Town F.C. or indeed the Eircom League in general??

Or are you trying to make the point that because someone sometime threw something at a train the whole town of Athlone is irredeemibly thuggish??

Or do you have a point at all??

Lads, I know these soundbites are easy to trot out and everything but it's not very helpful.

To whom?

What Athlone have is a teency weency problem for certain games which could easily be dealt with internally

So that explains why it is being reported on reputable football websites and not for the first time?

Sensationalising it isn't going to help anyone

Agreed. I'm not trying to sensationalise anything. I actually posted out of SYMPATHY with the genuine ATFC supporters, and to highlight an issue that is once again on the rise across the game in Europe after two decades of post Hillsborough / post Heysel peace. Your suggestion seems to be that ignoring it will make it go away.

Or do you have a point at all??
    Have a look in the mirror and repeat those words to yourself. Love the new sig BTW, I've noticed the improvement in the water quality around here already
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

[QUOTE=MyTown;695704][B]Have a look in the mirror and repeat those words to yourself. [QUOTE]

I'm not trying to sensationalise anything
    highlight an issue that is once again on the rise across the game in Europe after two decades of post Hillsborough / post Heysel peace
    FFS A stone got thrown at a bus. Jesus

Your suggestion seems to be that ignoring it will make it go away.
    My suggestion is why blow everything out of all proportion with $hite like that??

Athlone are getting an unwanted reputation?? Come off it FFS

Amongst whom exactly?? Ask 100 members of the general public the first thing that comes into their head when you mention Athlone. See how many say Football Hooliganism..........

Lim till I die:

You do a good line in personal abuse. Calling my post shi$te is your right and par for the course when it comes to your response to posts from Galway.

I did not add one word to the report on 11-a-side.com.

Would you mind re-reading it?

It says there were 45 people on the bus. It says stone throwing youths. As far I am awarre the reference to youths means more than one - but you seem to be quite authoritative in your assertion that a stone was thrown. Obviously I have to bow to your greater knowledge, you must've been on the bus....and didn't feel at all threatened...and are really looking forward to your next visit. Enjoy it. There'll be a welcome audience for your line of argument.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

Quote Originally Posted by Sam Savic View Post
    They are the same security staff used at Dalymount and Richmond Park. Didn't hear of any issues apart from the two Cork fans who have been informed by Gardai that they will be charged for the possesion of the flares. I thought the Cork fans were decent enough compared to the problems we had with Sligo ( bottle thrown onto pitch ) and Waterford ( pitch encroachment ).
    charged for posession of flares??? ouch! never heard of anyone being charged before. bit extreme if you ask me, unless they throw them on the pitch.

Quote Originally Posted by atfconline View Post
    Conor would you do everyone a favour and grow up, fast.

I counted 45 Galway heads in section D, and then there was a small group on the halfway line on the far side. There was 70 in the two middle sections, and 25 in section A. If all the people in section C were from Galway, that would total about 130. If not, then there was 60.
    Who the hell are you?

If 3 Galway fans all agree there was 125-150 then do you not think you might be wrong?As i said not getting into an arguement as there's nothing to argue about.
    You're simply wrong..and possibly bitter.Can't see any other reason as to why you think we only had 60 when we clearly had double that.

Europe's Big Club.

If 4 or 5 Galway fans count the same thing then it must be true

yea sum eejits wit flares last nite, do hope dey get charged. security staff were terrible wudnt let me into the bar after match, tho im a regular there. obnoxious as i said b4
    "No one could make a greater mistake than he who did nothing because he could do only a little." - Edmund Burke

Maybe.

idiots who did that,the dundalk fans seem to be out for revenge,and will probably target the few real fans that will travel to dundalk on a bus whenever we play again,i dont fancy going up to dundalk and getting my head slit because of some eejits,in athlone,that came down for the craic and probably didnt even know the final score

Can the Galway fans picking a row with half the league please take thingselsewhere and stop clogging up this thread?

Europe's Big Club.