Thread: UCD 1-1 Cork

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar

UCD 1-1 Cork

Pretty even game, draw fair result I'd say. Nice to see us get off the mark again at long last. Referee was shocking.

47 Posts
    force of habit i know, but the game i watched ended 1-1!

thought it was a poor enough ucd performance tonight, though cork weren't much better. our lads seemed to take a long time to adjust to the slick surface, and as usual (and finn wouldn't have made *that* much difference) the link between midfield and attack was woeful.

one of the visiting fans i spoke too was very impressed with sammon, and fair play to him he stuck away his only chance tonight. if only he could do it a bit more regularly he'd be a real asset.

smashing save by quigley at the end of the first half too.

3,488 Posts
    UCD claimed their fifth draw in succession when holding league champions Cork City to an entertaining draw at Belfield Park, although the game did at least see UCD's first league goal for since early August and first league goal against since the end of July.

Pete Mahon made two changes from the side which had drawn 0-0 in Waterford - Pat Kavanagh came in for his first start in place of Pat McWalter, while Paul Byrne replaced Conan Byrne up front. Cork, meanwhile, had start striker John O'Flynn fit after picking up an injury the previous week against Bohs.

UCD started well, and Kavanagh could have put the Students ahead after a quarter of an hour, but he blazed over from ten yards after getting into a good position. Mick Devine in the Cork net nearly helped UCD's cause a few minutes later when spilling a harmless through ball, but Paul Byrne was just too far behind to capitalise, while a couple of minutes later again, Conor Sammon went on a mazy 20-yard run before shooting tamely at Devine from distance.

However, Cork came into the half strongly, and were only inches away from taking the lead on the half hour when a deep cross just eluded O'Flynn at the far post, wihle shortly before half-time, Darren Quigley had to be at his best to pull of a superb double save - first from ten yards, and then from point blank range.

The game livened up in the second half, and shortly before the hour, it was UCD's turn to be inches away from an opener, when the Cork defence just managed to get a toe to Alan Mahon's deep free kick ahead of the lurking Alan McNally. Five minutes later, Quigley was again called into action when denying Woods in a one-on-one situation, before Paul Byrne just failed to connect with a teasing Darragh Ryan cross from the left.

Ryan was called into action at the other end when Darren Quigley's goal kick was scuffed straight to O'Flynn; as the forward bore down on goal, Ryan was back to deny the Cork number 9 with a superb challenge as he was about to pull the trigger.

With twenty minutes remaining, UCD took the lead. A long-ball over the top caused hesitation with Dan Murray in the Cork defence, and Conor Sammon took advantage to outmuscle the defender before racing into the box to slot past the advancing Mick Devine.

The lead lasted all of four minutes, however. Cork's equaliser came from an uttelry unexpected source - Dan Murray rifling home a superb equaliser from 25 yards, giving Darren Quigley no chance.

UCD had one last chance to seal all three points, but after Sammon found Paul Byrne unmarked on the edge of the area, Byrne's rustiness after two months on the sidelines told, and his first touch was poor, allowing Cork to clear.

All in all, a draw was a fair result, and one which lifts UCD up into eighth in the table, although Longford are a point adrift with two games in hand. it also extends UCD's unbeaten run to seven games ahead of next week's FAI Cup Quarter-Final clash in Derry.

UCD - Quigley; Mahon, Ryan, Kenna, McNally; McDonnell, Kavanagh (McWalter 65), Dicker, Doyle; P Byrne (C Byrne 87), Sammon. Subs not used - Hussey, Harte, Purcell

Att - 430

I thought the game last night was quite entertaining. There was chances at both ends. Adrian Eames didn't seem to depressed on Radio 1 at being forced to watch it either. What do people expect for €15 these days? It wouldn't even pay for three pints in certain establishments in Dublin!

47 Posts
    wasn't the most exhilarating of matches, despite the goal bonanza.

was ronan finn suspended? does that mean he will be available for the cup tie next week?

Quote Originally Posted by Burnsie View Post
    was ronan finn suspended? does that mean he will be available for the cup tie next week?
    The suspension definitely is next week, so he musn't have recovered fully from his injury.

3,488 Posts
    He was still injured.

We finally score a goal and DmanDmythDledge ignores it.

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    We finally score a goal and DmanDmythDledge ignores it.
    Eh...
    Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    Pretty even game, draw fair result I'd say. Nice to see us get off the mark again at long last. Referee was shocking.

3,488 Posts
    He means heading the thread "0-0"

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    It's been edited now. The title of the thread you originally put up was "UCD 0-0 Cork City".

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    It's been edited now. The title of the thread you originally put up was "UCD 0-0 Cork City".
    Never noticed that! Must have been force of habit!

71 Posts
    Thread on Cork's forum for their usual bitter rantings:

http://corkcityfc.ie/forums/index.php?showforum=2

Apparently we set out to defend despite playing a clear 4-4-2 with two clear forwards, one out and out attacking winger and a full back who can only attack.

71 Posts
    I just banned for some minor sarcasm. Peadar was giving out about us getting kids into the game and I replied "I agree. Getting kids into an eL game. What a fu(king disgrace." Talk about gestapo stuff.

3,488 Posts
    Dmanetc - I assumed you'd read Burnsie's first post noting your error too!

Just about made a bit of money on less than 2.5 goals scored - was getting worried for a while!
    Last edited by Schumi; 24/09/2006 at 4:45 PM. Reason: Leave off the personal abuse

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    I just banned for some minor sarcasm. Peadar was giving out about us getting kids into the game and I replied "I agree. Getting kids into an eL game. What a fu(king disgrace." Talk about gestapo stuff.
    I was talking to Schumi tonight and was joking to him what would be the least I would have to do to get banned on that forum. No need to try now...
    I read it but didn't have a clue what he was on about!

71 Posts

Just about made a bit of money on less than 2.5 goals scored - was getting worried for a while!
    Are you telling me Peader banned me?
    Last edited by Schumi; 24/09/2006 at 4:57 PM. Reason: removing personal attack comment

It was only for 3 hours.

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    Are you telling me Peader banned me?
    Can you not see the post?

He banned you for three hours, ostensibly for trying to circumvent the swearing filter. I think I'll be next after calling him a muppet... Imagine a club trying to increase its home support!