Thread: Sligo Rovers 0-1 UCD

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar

Sligo Rovers 0-1 UCD

Brilliant performance tonight. Mahon had the tactics almost spot on. Outplayed Sligo for most of the match. They had a bit of pressure in the second half when we sat back but our defence was superb. Quigley only had one save to make apart from the penalty I think. Kenna and Tony Mc won everything in the air. Great performance from the new signing Crowley and Finn was a good link between midfield and attack.
    Last edited by DmanDmythDledge; 05/08/2006 at 1:36 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    Brilliant performance tonight. Mahon had the tactics almost spot on. Outplayed Sligo for most of the match. They had a bit of pressure in the second half when we sat back but our defence was superb. Quigley only had one save to make apart from the penalty I think. Kenna and Tony Mc won everything in the air. Great performance from the new signing Crowley and Finn was a good link between midfield and attack.
    you got to be taking the biscuit?
    outplayed us?were you at the match
    We were all over ye in the first half but wouldnt shoot.had one shot in the first half.
    How many times did UCD students go down in the second half with nothing wrong with them...disgrace.
    Your no.10 was class,whats his name,the long haired guy.
    Fair play to the UCD fans,sang their hearts out for the whole game,would have been no atmosphere without ye

Quote Originally Posted by The Stars
    you got to be taking the biscuit?
    outplayed us?were you at the match
    We were all over ye in the first half but wouldnt shoot.had one shot in the first half.
    Sligo did nothing in the first half. Only played long balls half time that came to nothing. You only did anything decent when the ball came down the right wing. I thought Cash was your best player in the first half. We were much the better side in the first half. We had numerous shots on goal that could have led to goals, you only had one.

Second half we sat back and defended better than you attacked. I think that would mean that we outplayed you.

How many times did UCD students go down in the second half with nothing wrong with them...disgrace.
    The only unsportsmanship from UCD players was when Quigley was taking goal kicks and when Crowley tried to stop a free been taken.

Your no.10 was class,whats his name,the long haired guy.
    Finn was our no.10.

Fair play to the UCD fans,sang their hearts out for the whole game,would have been no atmosphere without ye
    Sure didn't the 1,100 Sligo fans make plenty of noise. Only started making a bit of nosie in the last 10/15 minutes. So much for the intimidating atmosphere in the Showgrounds.

Finally a win. Yesss. And a striker on the scoresheet. We're gonna stay up; oh hold on everyone is, or isn't as the case may be?
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

Formerly: wild rover
    ye didnt out play us.....even your manager acknowledged that but you deserved the victory because ye had the ability to put the ball in the net and we didnt

if you are coming all the way from dublin to support the team why not sing instead of just sitting...your fans left me with a new found respect for the dublin city fans....

71 Posts
    The match reports are saying we were deserved winners and particularly dominated the first half. The Ocean FM commentary also thought Sligo had a poor first half.

Seems like Finn is proving to be a top quality player for us. Looks like Mahon's team has done it again.

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    The only unsportsmanship from UCD players was when Quigley was taking goal kicks and when Crowley tried to stop a free been taken.

wat about the time, when your keeper, tried to diving head the ball/kill darren mansaram, in your box, then feign injury himself?

Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    wat about the time, when your keeper, tried to diving head the ball/kill darren mansaram, in your box, then feign injury himself?
    Ye I forgot about that. Should have been a free to nobody I thought as well.

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Stars View Post

You've got to love quotes like this!! Sligo were utter muck in the first half - no ideas, just hoof it up to the front line and hope something bounced their way. We knocked it about far better and were comfortable at half-time. Wouldn't often use the word outplay, but it was correct in this case. Not only had we the better of the play, but we were teaching you a footballing lesson as well. I was wondering how on earth youz were fifth in the table at half-time!

In the second half, Sligo had far more pressure, but again, we created the best chances on the break. Sammon really should have scored that one in injury time.

Got to love Sligo fans slagging UCD fans for being quiet (bodhrán was banjaxed, which didn't help) - where was that cauldron Conor Kenna was promised?!

I had heard for ages about the retribution on UCD.....
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

3,488 Posts
    And Sligo proving that they weren't a circus act?

3,488 Posts
    UCD's remarkable record against Sligo Rovers was continued on Friday night when a lone Conor Sammon strike was enough to secure a fifth straight win in the Showgrounds, and send the Bit O' Red spinning to a first home defeat in over a year. The win was no more than College deserved, as they outplayed their hosts for long spells.

Pete Mahon made two changes for the game - Derek Doyle was back in on the left wing for Darragh Ryan, while new signing Paul Crowley slotted in in centre-mid, with Ronan Finn moving into an attacking midfield role and Paul Byrne dropping to the bench in what appeared to be a 4-4-1-1 formation. Finn caused Sligo plenty of problems in an inspired performance, while Crowley had an impressive debut, having signed from Dublin City in midweek.

The game was open from the off, with Sligo getting the first sniff at goal after a slip from Conor Kenna let Mansaram get space, but the UCD defence closed down very quickly to clear. It was an uncharacteristic mistake from Kenna in what, ultimately, was a towering performance as UCD ended the game repelling all that Sligo could throw at them.

UCD's first real chance came just two minutes later when Finn played through Conor Sammon, but the Sligo defence got back just in time to get a vital deflection to Sammon's shot. And the Sligo defence had to be alert again on 27 miuntes when Crowley's dinked pass almost put Ronan Finn through on goal, but this time, Richard Brush in the Sligo goal was out quickly to snuff out the danger.

Sligo's attacks came almost exclusively from long balls thumped down the pitch to their strike force of Darren Mansaram and Brian Cash, and UCD's defence coped with ease, while the Students were playing far more ball. And they were rewarded on 39 minutes with the lead goal - Paul Crowley found space on the right to send over a cross for Conor Sammon who, unmarked, sent a superb looping header over Brush and into the far corner of the net.

The goal stung Sligo in action, and within two minutes, Brian Cash cracked a 25-yard drive off the post with Darren Quigley beaten. However, in keeping with the general trend of the first half, UCD promptly outdid their hosts when giong straight down the pitch and hitting the woodwork twice; first Conor Sammon thumped Alan Mahon's low cross off the post before Derek Doyle smakced the rebound off the bar. When Sligo eventually cleared, it was only as far as Finn, whose drive from the edge of the box was inches wide.

At half-time, UCD were in control of the game and looking comfortable. However, Sligo were much improved in the second half and, after Paul Crowley sent a shot just wide for UCD, they were awarded a soft penalty when Bosnian Fahrudin Kudozovic went down under Alan Mahon's challenge. In truth, Mahon's hand was on his opponent's back, but the Sligo player certainly needed no second hit the ground. Keith Foy stepped up and, with Darren Quigley advancing a good two or three yards off his line, stalled his run-up, causing Quigley to slip. Despite this, Quigley still recovered to save Foy's penalty, which was low and to the keeper's left.

The miss seemed to spur Sligo on, and they came more into the game as it went on. Quigley was forced into a good tip-over from a header from 12 yards, while a free on the edge of the area was just over as well. However, it was by no means all Sligo, and Ronan Finn sent a volley narrowly over as UCD's counters on the break grew ever more dangerous.

On 77 minutes, Mansaram was sent clear on the left. His first attempt to cross ended in him falling over, but he recovered to beat Alan Mahon and rifle in a shot, which Tony McDonnell took full in the face to deflect over. McDonnell needed treatment and was ultimately substituted eight minutes later in obvious discomfort, with Brisn Shortall replacing him.

Darren Quigley nearly gifted Sligo an equaliser when his short goal kick was returned with interest; Quigley raced out of his box to head clear, but collided with Mansaram in doing so. Curiously, the referee awarded a free out in what appeared a genuine accidental collision.

As the game neared injury time, Sligo were threatening UCD constantly, but the defence was majestic, winning everything in the air and often setting dangerous counterplay through McWalter, Dicker and Finn. As the fourth official indicated five minutes of injury time, one counter saw a long clearing ball out of defence fall perfectly for Sammon, 40 yards out but behind the last man and with a clear run on goal. His shot was weak, however, and Brush saved well with his feet. Two minutes later, a mazy Gary Dicker run took him into the box only for his shot to be blocked; agonisingly, he and Sammon got in each other's way of a clear shot on goal.

It mattered little in the end as the referee blew up with UCD's goal still intact. The win extends UCD's unbeaten run against Sligo to 12 matches over 8½ years and sets Pete Mahon's charges up perfectly for a crucial trip to Longford next week.

UCD - Quigley; Mahon, Kenna, McDonnell (Shortall 85), McNally; Crowley, Dicker, McWalter, Doyle; Sammon, Finn. Subs not used - Hussey, Ryan, Byrne, Kavanagh

Att - c 1100

I don't think we pi$$ed on Sligo or anything but I do think we were the better side. We looked more dangerous in the first half even if we didn't create too many good chances. Sligo had more of the ball in the second half as we sat back a bit more but they didn't have too many chances either.

Finn (#10 mentioned above) was fantastic, some great touches of skill and used the ball well which can be a problem with skillful, tricky players sometimes. Kenna and Dicker were excellent too. The only performance I was disappointed with was Podge, he's wasted on the wing. If we're going to play him it has be up front IMO.

It was a terrible performance from both teams(certainly our worst of the season). If DmanDmyth etc. is saying what a great performance ye had then I'd hate to have seen ye in previous games cos ye were brutal(just like us)

Long overdue win; long overdue away win; need another three (away wins) before the season ends. And we also need to start winning at home again.

3,488 Posts
    If DmanDmyth etc. is saying what a great performance ye had then I'd hate to have seen ye in previous games cos ye were brutal(just like us)
    Yeah, we've had some poor performances of late. But there's no denying we played well on the night.

Formerly: wild rover
    The win extends UCD's unbeaten run against Sligo to 12 matches over 8½ years .

im looking forward to our 3rd meeting

Did Harpal Singh play against us and if he did was he any use?
    We are the U the U the UCDD!!!!

3,488 Posts
    He came on with about 20 minutes to go. Gave Podge a bit of a tough time, but Podge looked knackered for some reason.

811 Posts
    He also shoved either Podge or Alan Mahon in the chest and wasn't so much as booked.

He was fast, and he got in one excellent cross, but he wasn't as much trouble as he might have been.
    You can't spell failure without FAI