Thread: Dublin City 1-3 UCD

3,488 Posts

Dublin City 1-3 UCD

The gulf between the Premier Division and the First Division (or at least, their repsective second string teams) was shown up at Belfield Park tonight as UCD cruised to a League Cup victory over a very poor Dublin City side.

With first team training finishing just as the game kicked off, UCD made the expected 11 changes to the team which drew 0-0 with Shamrock Rovers on Friday. Damien Dupuy and Adrian Murphy were given the chance of some target shooting up front, while other expected faces - such as Neil Gallagher, Brian Gannon, Colm Kierans and Kieran Foley were introduced.

After six goals in their opening eleven league games, UCD badly needed to get a couple of goals under their belt; however, the opening quarter was reasonable well-balanced, with all the low-key nature of a typical League Cup encounter. Three minutes into the second quarter, however, the game had taken a significant turn in UCD's favour. First Damien Dupuy took a cross from the right on his chest and tried a shot on the turn; the Dublin City keeper parried, but only as far as Brian Gannon, who tucked home unchallenged.

A minute later, it was 2-0, with Brian Gannon scoring again; this time, turning home a cross with his back to goal. And a minute later again, it could easily have been 3-0 as Adrian Murphy ran with the ball past a static City defence only to see his shot from 15 yards smack off the post and back into the hands of the grateful Dublin City keeper.

UCD cruised through to half-time, although Neil Gallagher had something of a let off when he let a shot slip through his hands and roll along the goalline before he got down to smother. It mattered little, as UCD were 3-0 up shortly after the restart - Derek Doyle, who had been an unused sub last Friday, got free at the back post to tap home a Brian Gannon cross.

Dublin City did pull one back six minutes later - Pat Deans drilling a 20-yard free-kick under a suspect UCD wall. However, the result was never in doubr, particularly as Dublin City continued to set up UCD chances with a combination of lax defending and woeful passing. Adrian Murphy broke through only to see his shot well saved by the City keeper, the impressive Derek Doyle got room on the left but his pass to Murphy - twelve yards out in the centre of the box and completely unmarked - was just too heavy, while Murphy again broke through, saw his initial shot saved and just couldn't adjust quickly enough to turn the rebound home.

Dublin City had a couple of chances - Neil Gallagher pulled off a superb flying save from a header from six yards out, while Damien Kelly also had to clear off his own line late on, but there was never any doubt that UCD deserved to win and win comfortably. The result does set up next week's FAI Cup tie nicely - one would imagine after tonight's game that the respective first teams' meeting should see a similar result, but that's not always how football works...

In the other tie in Pool D of the League Cup, Shamrock Rovers overcame Bray Wanderers 3-0 in the Carlisle Grounds and join UCD, Kildare County and Shelbourne in the draw for the next, still regionalised, round. The winners of those ties will enter the open-draw quarter-finals.

UCD - Neil Gallagher; Damien Kelly, Aaron McEniff, Shane Long, Kieran Foley; Darren O'Brien, Brian Gannon, Colm Kierans, Derek Doyle; Damien Dupuy, Adrian Murphy. Subs used - John Brophy, Ryan Coyle, Ciarán Harte. Subs not used - Stephen Cashin, AN Other.

Att - 120
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 31/05/2005 at 12:29 PM.

Third sub was Ryan Coyle FYI pineapple; second one was Ciarán Harte.

71 Posts
    That match had a very training ground pace to it. I thought Dupuy was great. Had a hand in all three goals and unlucky not to have one himself. I was impressed by our two centre backs. They well strong in the air, confident enough on the ball, good in the tackle. One of them was a great communicator too. Gannon did well to nab the two goals but all in all he didn't look anything too special. Adrian Murphy could have had two goals if he had only used his left boot. I'm hoping we draw Kildare in the next round as I doubt these lads could beat Shels or Rovers (who I think are putting a strong team out). It was a nice chance to see some of the young lads in action. Gallagher nearly did a Russel Payne but apart from that he pulled out a few great saves. Was that a strong Dublin City team? I see Collins came off the bench.

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Was that a strong Dublin City team? I see Collins came off the bench.
    Don't know how strong it was - didn't realise Collins came off the bench, but I saw they had their first choice keeper (Brendan Kennedy) on the bench alright. Might have had another couple of first-teamers. I'm sure the DC lads here will fill us in anyway.

Hope we get Kildare in the next round as well - they're behind Dublin City in the league table!

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    Third sub was Ryan Coyle FYI pineapple; second one was Ciarán Harte.
    Cheers. Who was the unused sub, so you know?

38 Posts
    It was a sub-reserve team.

Henry (back-up 'keeper, début)

Brennan (back-up/under-21 RB, second appearance of season), B. Kelly (regular LB), Griffin (back-up CB, hasn't played at any level for almost a year and was reported to have retired at one point, selected as a form of occupational therapy), Deans (entirely superfluous squad player, another convalescent)

Logan (under-21 RM, first-ever start), A. Kelly (out-of-favour first team LW), Chapman (under-21 CM, starting début), McGill (semi-regular CM)

Mulcahy (regular starter on the wing, pressed into service as makeshift striker), Gorman (benchwarming striker.)

By comparison, the regular starting XI is Kennedy, Pender, B. Kelly, Keely, Whelehan, Mulcahy, A. Kelly, Shiels, Scully, Vaughan, Collins.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

71 Posts
    One of your centre backs had a fair auld gut on him, must be Griffin from the sounds of things. It seems to me our knocking you out was a blessing. Sounds like you are not equipped for it, no real U-21s team and not much of a squad.

Fair play to the Dublin City lads who turned up. Pure dedication to travel to this and pay 15 Euro. You had good colour too with your flags.

38 Posts
    One of your centre backs had a fair auld gut on him, must be Griffin from the sounds of things.
    The scary thing is - that was Deans! And he's seen league action within the past month.
    Fair play to the Dublin City lads who turned up. Pure dedication to travel to this and pay 15 Euro. You had good colour too with your flags.
    Tell me about it. The more I reflect upon the €15 entrance fee (presumably set by DC), the more dismayed I become. The manager's intention to approach this game as a glorified friendly was flagged well in advance, and yet, rather than offer their most loyal fans (almost all of whom have performed services for the club without requesting or expecting a penny in return) a reduced rate for this most insignificant of matches, the club decided to fleece its captive audience for every last cent. A very bad show indeed.

However, the most pressing issue is - from whom do I claim my free shoeshine session at the FAI Cup game? I scuffed up a smart pair of shoes trudging through muddy paths and open fields like a common peasant.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan
    The scary thing is - that was Deans! And he's seen league action within the past month.

Tell me about it. The more I reflect upon the €15 entrance fee (presumably set by DC), the more dismayed I become. The manager's intention to approach this game as a glorified friendly was flagged well in advance, and yet, rather than offer their most loyal fans (almost all of whom have performed services for the club without requesting or expecting a penny in return) a reduced rate for this most insignificant of matches, the club decided to fleece its captive audience for every last cent. A very bad show indeed.

However, the most pressing issue is - from whom do I claim my free shoeshine session at the FAI Cup game? I scuffed up a smart pair of shoes trudging through muddy paths and open fields like a common peasant.
    My brother is going to love that. He went to school with Deans.

How did you get so mucky? Did you come via the campus or through the gate near the stadium? Was Seery at the game last night by any chance? He obviously decided to fleece us knowing whoever turned up would pay anything.

Stay off our pitches in future, short cuts are taken at your own risk.

Was Seery at the game last night by any chance?
    He was and he was watching the turnstiles like a hawk to ensure the UCD crowd all paid in.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bald Student
    He was and he was watching the turnstiles like a hawk to ensure the UCD crowd all paid in.
    I don't even know whether to ask if that was a joke.

3,488 Posts
    Surprised no-one mentioned Pádraig Harrington being at the game so far... What got into him, I don't know!

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Surprised no-one mentioned Pádraig Harrington being at the game so far... What got into him, I don't know!
    What? Where? That's truly bizarre.

38 Posts
    Yeah, what was that all about? I pointed him out and was immediately shot down by all present. On the return journey, it was conceded that, while someone identical in appearance to Pádraig Harrington had been in attendance, it couldn't possibly have been Pádraig Harrington.

My brother is going to love that. He went to school with Deans.

How did you get so mucky? Did you come via the campus or through the gate near the stadium? Was Seery at the game last night by any chance? He obviously decided to fleece us knowing whoever turned up would pay anything.
    Ronan Seery and his Dad were both at the game!

Yeah, what was that all about? I pointed him out and was immediately shot down by all present. On the return journey, it was conceded that, while someone identical in appearance to Pádraig Harrington had been in attendance, it couldn't possibly have been Pádraig Harrington.
    It was Pádraig Harrington and I don't think he supports College!

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    It was Pádraig Harrington and I don't think he supports College!
    They are his local team though (mind you Rovers probably we're while he was growing up).

Nice to see a few goals going in. The striker they brought off the bench was a bit classy, I can see a move to Shels on the horison for him.

And fair play to the DC fans too.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Cheers. Who was the unused sub, so you know?
    Liam Tiernan... his Dad works in my office and he was at the match with Liam's Ma.

3,488 Posts
    Thread on the other (less used) Dublin City forum about the match.