Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Employing black people as toilet tenants is 'demeaning'

Employing black people as toilet tenants is 'demeaning'

AN anti-racism body has hit out at pub and nightclub owners for the "demeaning" practice of employing black people as toilet tenants

http://www.unison.ie/irish_independe...issue_id=14990

just bugs me, i hate it. Thanks i can take a pi$$ on my own & wash my hands. As for being racist, they don't have to work there & i'm sure their not paying tax on all thier "income". Lads you know where the door is.

Quote Originally Posted by Ringo View Post
    As for being racist, they don't have to work there & i'm sure their not paying tax on all thier "income". Lads you know where the door is.
    Presumably the pub and club owners will have no problem producing the documentation to show that they are being paid minimum wage at least - payslips and P60's. If they are reaching taxable rates of income, it's the employers duty to deduct and pay that. Tips take as cash are not taxable, and are not considered wages.

Never mind that "they" might be exploited in the hope of getting a few bob, they don't have to do it. Afterall, I'm sure it's top of an immigrants wish list to work in jacks trying to get tips from drunk punters.

It's all well and good if you're in some posh gaff and take leak after a glass of wine but if you're on the beer all night, it can cost you a bleedin' fortune to go to the jax.
    I don't think it's necessary or right to switch off the hand dryers, in order to force you to take a paper towel, from a guy sitting next to a dish full of coins.

112 Posts
    i dunno, they can be useful in nightclubs. and sometimes they can add to the banter. obviously the pushy ones id have problems with, i dont mind shelling out a quid for a splash of aftershave and deodarant on a night out but every time you visit is a bit much to expect alright.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Anecdotally, I have it that few if any of these guys (and gals) are actually "employees" of nightclubs. They approach the venue -in much the same way bands, DJs and their agents approach venues looking for a gig -and ask can they set up their stall in the toilets.

I don't get to clubs that often these days but I seem to recall it all being a bit unneccessary (Their "products" -anti perspirant etc... was all pound shop muck that you'd be more likely to spray on an ant-hive as well I recall) .

Beyond restaurants -we don't have a tipping culture in our society and for sound reasons -access to recreational services such as nightclubs is relatively expensive already and it's reasonable to expect not to have to tip everyone you deal with therein.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Not sure the "self employed" thing works with revenue anymore. The Construction Industry got stung over bogus self employed, resulting in a €40 a week increase in average pay in the industry.

From what I know they dont get paid and all they get is the tips. To be honest they are providing a service that is not requested or demanded in my view and most people only pay due to guilt etc.
    In Trap we trust

It is demeaning for anyone to work in niteclub toilets as an attendant.

If I am sober enough no chance I am paying someone for a paper towel & chance to splash some vinegar on my face. I would resist the guilt element by just refusing the paper towel.

I blame the bar/club owners. They cannot possibly think its a service to have toilet attendant unless its a safety thing as the guys don't clean the toilets.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    It is demeaning for anyone to work in niteclub toilets as an attendant.

If I am sober enough no chance I am paying someone for a paper towel & chance to splash some vinegar on my face. I would resist the guilt element by just refusing the paper towel.

I blame the bar/club owners. They cannot possibly think its a service to have toilet attendant unless its a safety thing as the guys don't clean the toilets.
    nobody is forcing them to do it.
    btw im guessing this is a dublin thing as ive never seen them in cork
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Seen toilet attendants usually old/er women it in plently of places in Europe

Err, actually 3 places, Brussels, Stuttgart, some posh bar in London i think (it was a bit of a haze that night)

Is it only demeaning if the toilet attendant is black?
    www.WalkTheChalk.com - Stats, Opinion & Bluster on Irish Club Football

Quote Originally Posted by el punter View Post
    Is it only demeaning if the toilet attendant is black?
    They're only ever black. That's what's demeaning.

Ive been unemployed for 4 years now
    I basically cant get a job in my chosen career
    toilet assistance

these damn foreigners are coming over here and taking our jobs!

Oh the old blacks in the jacks as ive heard them being called recently!

I don’t mind them; here are some tips to not paying 2 euro for every pee

1. Say no (seems obvious I know)

2. Don’t wash your hands (is your Mickey really that much dirtier than the filthy club that has been pawed by hundreds of drunken smelly Irish people with there clammy hands: D )

Or

3.what I do have a chat with the guy ask him where his from what’s his name etc etc general small talk have a bit of a joke with him drop him a 2 euro tip then he will remember you for the rest of the night and you can pee freely .

its the same guy normally in the club i go to he is good fun ive gotten to know him pretty well as im always going on about joey yobo and he wont take any money off me now .

I wonder why the people who made this report think a guy trying to earn an honest buck is demeaning, do they also consider the women that scrub toilets and the guys who sweep the road to be demeaning themselves also.

i tend to get more worked up about tipping a waiter "thanks for doing your job to a reasonable standard here is some free money on top of your wages for carring my food from the kitchen to the table" .

Quote Originally Posted by Student Mullet View Post
    They're only ever black. That's what's demeaning.
    Unskilled immigrants do the jobs that the natives wont do for the money on offer . It's no more or less demeaning than than teenagers working in fast food places or clearing tables in pubs, or Eastern Europeans labouring on Irish farms.

Another man might call it a shrewd business opportunity.

It sounds like someone is being offended on behalf of toilet attendants.
    www.WalkTheChalk.com - Stats, Opinion & Bluster on Irish Club Football

Quote Originally Posted by el punter View Post
    Unskilled immigrants do the jobs that the natives wont do for the money on offer . It's no more or less demeaning than than teenagers working in fast food places or clearing tables in pubs, or Eastern Europeans labouring on Irish farms.

Another man might call it a shrewd business opportunity.

It sounds like someone is being offended on behalf of toilet attendants.
    The difference is that you get a mix of people working on farms, in pubs or in fast food shops. I have never seen a white person attending a toilet in Dublin. I've never even seen an asian or eastern europen immigrant do it. It is a job given entirely to black africans and that's what I don't like.

No matter what the colour of a person it is a demeaning job. I never tip them. This is not America. There is no tipping culture here. End of.

Another slant on it is that they, apparently, keep an eye out for people using the bogs to shoot up or can notify security if there's a mill happening. No harm in having them there really.

But I can wash my hands and dry them myself thanks and am not tipping in a club/late bar that is charging exorbitant rates for drinks.

As an aside anyone who doesnt wash their hands after using the bog is an animal and also the urinals are there for a reason.

This service also exists in Westport in the local nightclub. Same layout but I wash my own hands and give nothing.

Anyone with aspirations to work in the toilets like that are sad individuals.

Would they wipe your bum on request??
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Quote Originally Posted by Thunderblaster View Post
    Anyone with aspirations to work in the toilets like that are sad individuals.
    no, its sad that this is what they have to do for a buck in this supposedly socialist republic.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wws View Post
    Ive been unemployed for 4 years now
    I basically cant get a job in my chosen career
    toilet assistance
    these damn foreigners are coming over here and taking our jobs!
    They're taking the p*ss to a new level so!
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast