Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Attendances are they up or Down?

Quote Originally Posted by Redie View Post
    Ya! end of Sligo Rovers!
    I think paying €2k a week for players may have more to do with the demise of Sligo than the particular season in which the club plays.....

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    I think paying €2k a week for players may have more to do with the demise of Sligo than the particular season in which the club plays.....
    Steve hi, first of all he is not on that money but second he his not costing the club anything during the playing season.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers Maniac View Post
    Steve hi, first of all he is not on that money but second he his not costing the club anything during the playing season.
    Do ye just pay him during the off season?
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

Quote Originally Posted by GuisaSaigon View Post
    Do ye just pay him during the off season?
    Business people are covering his wages, he is not on 2,000 grand a week either.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by londonred View Post
    Because of the amouont of GAA on the tv on sunday and saturday afternoons they are now playing their club and underage games on fri/sat nights leaving sunday/sat mornings free for travelling to games, this does affect the crowds in Sligo and other places.
    my point was how can anyone rationally choose a muck game like Ga over football?

Going by the Sam Maguire thread, you seem to be a big fan of GAA.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Boco at Sligo apparently on€2k a week
    Yeah why not make things up to prove your point.How would you know what he's on anyway? He's not on 2k a week nor has that figure even been mentioned before.At the start of the season it was rumoured that he's on 1.5k a week but it is actually less than that and the club don't even pay his wages.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers fan View Post
    the club don't even pay his wages.
    Is that allowed? how does it fit in to the 65% wage cap rule?

Attendances at Waterford United this season have been terrible and worse than when we had winter soccer. I remember going to 1st division games back in the 90's in worse weather and much worse facilities at the RSC and the crowds were bigger. Clubs must be so frustrated that they've improved facilities,tried to improve standards and still crowds are poor.

125 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    my point was how can anyone rationally choose a muck game like Ga over football?
    i don't know how anyone can call GAA a muck game. Soccer is so slow compared to it. A Gaa game can change in seconds.
    Long Live King Kenny

Quote Originally Posted by GuisaSaigon View Post
    Is that allowed? how does it fit in to the 65% wage cap rule?

Well it's just like getting funding and using it to pay wages,it would still be part of the 65%.

1,524 Posts
    As far as attendance figures go I think we can all agree that when they are up they are up, when they are down they are down and when they are only halfway up they are neither up nor down.
    Last edited by Mr A; 18/07/2008 at 2:32 PM.

335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    Going by the Sam Maguire thread, you seem to be a big fan of GAA.

Well football is number one
    Everyother sport pales in significance, but i still watch them all
    Jesus i even spent 4 hours watching the golf yesterday

335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jinxy lilywhite View Post
    i don't know how anyone can call GAA a muck game. Soccer is so slow compared to it. A Gaa game can change in seconds.
    Really!
    I find it the other way around, hand passing around and around the field, hopping it off the ground, hitting wides in front of the post, and all the running with no particular plan, and absolutely NO SKILL
    No way would the GA EVER come before Football

Hurling I could get your idea, but def not Ga

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers fan View Post
    Well it's just like getting funding and using it to pay wages,it would still be part of the 65%.
    Sorry for dragging this off topic but I'm confused.The club raise money from local businessmen and spend it on player wages. I don't see how Sligo are not paying his wages. Sure, the money originally comes from these donors but is the money not given to Sligo Rovers? these business men are hardly paying Boco's wages directly into his bank account are they?

125 Posts
    Really!
    I find it the other way around, hand passing around and around the field, hopping it off the ground, hitting wides in front of the post, and all the running with no particular plan, and absolutely NO SKILL
    Thats sounds like a very bad day in Oriel
    Long Live King Kenny

175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jinxy lilywhite
    As can basketball. Who likes that??

Every summer we have the attendances whinge. Attendances are a year-round problem, be it a pre-season friendly in Monaghan in February, the cup final in December, or Rovers-Pats in July. For as long as I've been watching the LOI, attendances have been permanently poor. Winter or summer football is not to blame. It's the Irish sporting culture.

Attendances can be improved, by the elimination of Friday night games, later kos, and a reduction in prices. But still, low crowds is something we just have to accept in this country. Only the top leagues sell out.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

They don't. It springs from decades of propaganda and conditioning, followed by more decades of sheer habit, all fertilised by tons of interminable hype served up by our media, which often won't even call football football.

Forget about the history and the rivalry. GAA football is ugly, pure and simple. It is the antithesis of how good foothball is played, and in objective terms is pointless, because scoring is facile.

No one in their right mind making an informed decision would choose to follow GAA. The problem for football is that choosing a sport is rarely a rational decision.

Well said BOHDIDDLEY!!

125 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley View Post
    They don't. It springs from decades of propaganda and conditioning, followed by more decades of sheer habit, all fertilised by tons of interminable hype served up by our media, which often won't even call football football.

Forget about the history and the rivalry. GAA football is ugly, pure and simple. It is the antithesis of how good foothball is played, and in objective terms is pointless, because scoring is facile.

No one in their right mind making an informed decision would choose to follow GAA. The problem for football is that choosing a sport is rarely a rational decision.
    Thats complete rubbish. By your reckoning all GAA is crap and it is only popular because of decades of being brain washed by the auhtories. Cop on. The GAA is so popular because it is so well organised. There is a GAA club in every parish in the country. This is main difference between the two. Soccer in this country is supposed to be professional run but is run by a shower of amateurs who only ever seem to be involved because of their own interest not for the love of the game, while Gaelic is amateur but is probably the most professional sporting organisation in the world.
    If the FAI could try to do half what the GAA has done football in this country would be 10 times better
    Last edited by jinxy lilywhite; 18/07/2008 at 2:47 PM. Reason: spelling errors
    Long Live King Kenny

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast