Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: North Wales police "anti-Irish Racism" Ahead of Bohs Rhyl Clash

I have no idea were they got the idea that bohs fans couldnt behave themselves after a few drinks.

Good move by the police.
    MD

Bohs fans (not all obviously) cause the most problems in our league and have done so for a number of years.

Now they are making out as if they have been persecuted because of their Irishness. It is funny if it wasn't so pathetic.

Good move on behalf of the Welsh and will hopefully save our league from the embarrassment of these bawbags.

This post is not directed at the many good and loyal Bohs fans, of which there are plenty but at the small minority whom the rest of us can't but notice instead. And of course whom Bohs tend to ignore.

2,771 Posts
    2 wind ups in a row. Thats pretty impressive. Lining up to get the digs in while we're top of the league boys, eh?

The troublesome element of last year has largely disappeared thanks to the efforts of the club and fans to get rid of it.

Apart from one excruciatingly embarassing and shameful incident last year all i heard about was gangs of thugs attaching themsleves to one club attacking other gangs of thugs attaching themselves to other clubs. Hardly fans, in even the broadest interpretation of the word. Just knackers.

but whatever, enjoy the moment lads.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    Lining up to get the digs in while we're top of the league boys, eh?
    Yeah, you're right. it wasn't a Bohs fan who posted the ridiculous OTT headline looking for some sort of reaction

Just knackers
    Exactly, knackers people don't want in pubs in Wales...

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Exactly, knackers people don't want in pubs in Wales...
    so you think the problem is so widespread amongst Bohs fans that it warrants a lock down in Rhyl? Wise up.

And ignoring the rest of my post just highlights how petty and stupid youre really being.

As for your first point, im still trying to make out its relevance considering my post wasnt addressing you.

But go ahead Dodge, go all out and try to win your petty message board battles. Pathetic.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

I queried their rational behind this and got the following reply.

Michael, this is indeed factually incorrect. Due to specific intelligence we have asked the pubs to close to ALL members of the public from the end of the game until 6pm. This is voluntary.

I do not condone discrimination of any type and would not allow any group to be excluded on the grounds of race, religion, sexual orientation, gender or age.

I truly hope that you and your countrymen and women come to Rhyl, enjoy the game and hospitality and go home safely.

Unfortunately part of my job is to prepare for those individuals whose aim is to create fear and disorder amongst innocent supporters and other members of the public and there is a well established link between alcohol, sporting events and violence.

I wish you and your team all the best and assure you that racism plays no part in policing North Wales.

Regards,

Rob Kirman
    Inspector
    North denbighshire
    01745 588600

57 Posts
    Cringing at some people in this thread tbh - another nail in the coffin of the standard of this place...
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Non-story again lads, its common practice in Britain for the cops to order the closure of the local pubs if they have an inkling of trouble at a football match. They've probably asked our Gardai has there ever been any trouble regarding Bohs (answer is yes) and has there been any recent trouble when they've travelled (answer is yes). So it makes sense they would react in this way as their priority lies with ensuring the safety of the decent Welsh people in the area, not in making sure Bohs fans can get drunk
    Last edited by jebus; 28/06/2008 at 2:53 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    Cringing at some people in this thread tbh - another nail in the coffin of the standard of this place...

Agreed. Storm in a teacup.

Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    Agreed. First 5/6 posts are embarressing.

Réiteoir - I have no problem with Bohs as a club. Quite the opposite.

But until you are a fan of another club and are attacked by or threatened by Bohs fans then of course you won't fully understand other people's tendency to point it out. And that is that Bohs fans have history of violence. It's simple.

To then go on message boards with some type of shocked horror and perceived persecution because bars are closing is what is cringe worthy.

If the vast majority of Bohs fans don't understand why the police in Wales are showing caution then that is where you have the problem.

An aeriel photo of Rhyl after today's game.

Does that spell out 'No Irish'?!

Would have hoped for a little solidarity from fellow football supporters on this.
    Instead, we've got cheap point-scoring that feeds into the myths around football with some bone-headed cackling thrown in.

Bohemian FC is on the record as being highly proactive in tackling a tiny hooligan element that has blackened the name of all of its supporters. Some of the sages here are not only content with the continuance of the lies and half-truths, but are happy to add to the hype about hooliganism.

If you think that in the minds of the great Irish tabloid-reading, GAA and Celtic-loving public, your club is viewed any differently, think again.

Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley View Post
    Would have hoped for a little solidarity from fellow football supporters on this.
    Instead, we've got cheap point-scoring that feeds into the myths around football with some bone-headed cackling thrown in.
    But you didn't look for solidarity oin any footballing issue.

The OP tried to make out that this was a injustice against all Irish people. its not. Pubs were closed to football fans for an hour and a half. yeah, I'd feel sorry for a few Bihs fans I know who are going to be ****ed off BUT to try and make it its an "Irish" thing is the point I'm arguing about

Its an anti Bohs fans thing. Bohs do have hooligans. Anyone who says otherwise is living in dreamland. It doesn't matter how minor it is, it doesn't matter what other clubs do, it doesn't matter that the majority of Bohs fans are alright. What matters to the police of wales is that no trouble happens, and if they think the standard practice of closing the pubs for 90 minutes will help, thats all that does matter

PS post above removed for naming people by real names

Answer me this, where does the Welsh police's priorities begin? With the Welsh citizens they've sworn to protect, or with Irish fans looking for a drink?

As I said before, the No Irish line originated on the Welsh MB and clearly was an exaggerated interpretation. However, within this discussion there remains the issue of how ordinary football supporters are perceived and how those perceptions feed through to how they are treated.

As wide-eyed supporters of EPL find to their surprise when they go to the mainland for their EPL spectacle, football policing in England can be incredibly intimidating and heavy-handed, because of the legacy there of large-scale mob violence around matches.

There was very little prospect of that here. Every Bohs ticket sold had names and photo ID recorded precisely to avoid trouble. Advance notice of the known idiots likely to cause trouble was sent to Welsh police, who could have stopped them at Holyhead.

More generally, the club, far from ignoring the problem with a tiny proportion of headcases who call themselves Bohs fans, have adopted an extremely forthright policy towards them, but it cannot be held responsible for wider societal problems and for incidents that occur miles from matches.

I was going to go Rhyl, but I cried off when I heard of police plans, not to close bars, but to herd Bohs fans from the train station to the stadium. My kids, who have been going to Bohs matches for years and have never seen violence, or a hint of it, other than from Pats supporters outside Richmond Park, and a seemingly permanently over-excited garda riot squad, did not deserve to experience that just because they want to watch their team play football.

Play the hoolie-hype game if you want to Dodge, but don't be surprised if you are similarly thinking twice about travelling to support your club some time in the future.

75 Posts
    from Going to QPR games three or four times a season home and away this is common practice for away trips and sometimes home games.The whole thing was blown out of all proportion and should actually be binned its embarrasing.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

As wide-eyed supporters of EPL find to their surprise when they go to the mainland for their EPL spectacle
    ?????
    Work's Bogey

As I said before, the No Irish line originated on the Welsh MB and clearly was an exaggerated interpretation. However, within this discussion there remains the issue of how ordinary football supporters are perceived and how those perceptions feed through to how they are treated.

As wide-eyed supporters of EPL find to their surprise when they go to the mainland for their EPL spectacle, football policing in England can be incredibly intimidating and heavy-handed, because of the legacy there of large-scale mob violence around matches.

There was very little prospect of that here. Every Bohs ticket sold had names and photo ID recorded precisely to avoid trouble. Advance notice of the known idiots likely to cause trouble was sent to Welsh police, who could have stopped them at Holyhead.

More generally, the club, far from ignoring the problem with a tiny proportion of headcases who call themselves Bohs fans, have adopted an extremely forthright policy towards them, but it cannot be held responsible for wider societal problems and for incidents that occur miles from matches.

I was going to go Rhyl, but I cried off when I heard of police plans, not to close bars, but to herd Bohs fans from the train station to the stadium. My kids, who have been going to Bohs matches for years and have never seen violence, or a hint of it, other than from Pats supporters outside Richmond Park, and a seemingly permanently over-excited garda riot squad, did not deserve to experience that just because they want to watch their team play football.

Play the hoolie-hype game if you want to Dodge, but don't be surprised if you are similarly thinking twice about travelling to support your club some time in the future.

Excellent post, if i am to be herded to and from a match, I'd rather not go and likewise as a family man that nearly always goes with Wife and kids this is not what I want them to be experiencing.
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast