View Poll Results: Which Merseyside team will finish higher in this seasons Premiership?

Voters
50. You may not vote on this poll
  • Liverpool

22 44.00%
  • Everton

28 56.00%
Page 48 of 153 FirstFirst ... 3846474849505898148 ... LastLast

Thread: Everton and Liverpool discussion

175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sligoman
    Crouch actually scored a goal today.

As Bishop Brennan said in Father Ted: "The Kracken awakes".

1 goal in 5 months. At this rate, his next one is due at Portsmouth in May.

I'll accept he's "arrived" if he scores a hat-trick at Chelsea next week!!
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    1 goal in 5 months.
    1 goal in over 24hours of playing time .

[QUOTE=Dillo]
    Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    ......against the might of wigan!
    Well they're looking down on ye from a great height Evertonians crack me up. Here we are discussing Liverpool's vast improvement, up to third and already qualified in the CL, while Evertonians are banging on about some poncy record that means bo!!ox to anyone with a bit of sense. Football is about trophies and honours, not how many points you've culminated over 100 years......

Garcia's goal was top class too,lol
    Since when do you get points for the quality of your goals? If those tunnel-visioned Crouch/Liverpool bashers couldn't see that they totally outclassed Wigan yesterday, with a touch to spare, then this thread has amounted to nothing but sh!t stirring on some peoples part. Proper Liverpool fans will take it on the chin because continued begrudgery only results in making some people here look like idiots.
    Mens sana in corpore sano

Quote Originally Posted by JoeSemi
    Since when do you get points for the quality of your goals? If those tunnel-visioned Crouch/Liverpool bashers couldn't see that they totally outclassed Wigan yesterday, with a touch to spare, then this thread has amounted to nothing but sh!t stirring on some peoples part. Proper Liverpool fans will take it on the chin because continued begrudgery only results in making some people here look like idiots.
    Jaysus what's your problem?. You dont get any points for quality of goals, didn't you know that?.

I was just pointing out how it was a funny goal, that's all, calm down man.

hey begrudgers...its time for the "look at all the money liverpool have spent" one to be rolled out now

hes big, hes red, his feet stick out the bed, peter crouch, peter crouch.

off down to chavski with you now peter to have jose moaning about long balls. while completely ignoring the fact thats one of his own 2 tactics.
    you gowl!

at long last he scores , 22 games and 1 goal hopefully he can keep up his scoring rate and finish the season with an impressive 2 or 3 goals .

[quote]off down to chavski with you now peter to have jose moaning about long balls. while completely ignoring the fact thats one of his own 2 tactics.[quote]

thats funny , how many times has it been claimed on here that liverpool dont play long ball stuff !! the two worse team for long balls are calling each other long ball merchants ...

hello pot this is kettle .............

by the way lads liverpool dont have begrudgers .. when some one says 22 games 1 goal is bad its not begrudgery its a fact .

begrudgery is when a team stays above he all season gets more point than ye did ,yet cant admitt they deserved it .

evertons season has finnally taken off after getting some injuries back , thats 5 games 4 wins
    Last edited by anto1208; 05/12/2005 at 10:57 AM.

begrudgery is when a team stays...
    Begrudgery is where you have people who can't accept gradual improvement....like those who said earlier in the season that we were 12th and that that is an indication of the team and manager's ability......comparing 12th after 8 games to 5th after 38. When informed they were not comparing like with like, they insist that 5th and 12th show how we ahve not improved this season. Those who insist that there is really no point in playing the small teams - the big games is all that counts.. Those who can't see the long term gain in the club - can only see the results at the end of the match because they do not understand football. If it finishes 7-0 then we should've won 8-0. If it finishes 0-0 then it was a pathetic performance and twhy didn't they win 12-0, sure it was only Portsmouth/Sunderland/West Ham/Crystal Palace/Crewe Alexandra.

Everton are crap. Their season's starting - only 4 months into the season....Any chance for Europe lads?
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by d f x-
    Begrudgery is
    Not me anyway. You're using the wrong word, which is belittling the side. I call it constructive criticism.

When informed they were not comparing like with like
    Is it necessary??

they insist that 5th and 12th show how we ahve not improved this season.
    At that point, it was true.

Those who insist that there is really no point in playing the small teams - the big games is all that counts.
    Exactly. We are not West Brom, Portsmouth, or Sunderland where every game is a battle to beat the drop. We are Liverpool, and against weaker opposition, we're in a no win situation. Win, and all people say is "Yeah, so what ". Lose, and you get walloped. So the only games that matter to us, are the ones against our direct rivals. So what if we finish 2nd, 3rd, 4th. Apart from a CL place, what use is it? 4th is a sackable offence at this club, ask GH.

In 2002, we finished in 2nd place in the league. Who gives a damn?? People only remember winners, and this club has not won the league championship in a long time. 2nd and below is for the also-rans.

Those who can only see the results at the end of the match because they do not understand football. If it finishes 0-0 then it was a pathetic performance.
    At the end of the day, only the latest results count. Not what they were 2 years ago, or in 2 years time, for "development" purposes. What the team does in each game is the finished product, which is the only thing that matters. It's crap to lose in the FA Cup at Burnley, it's crap to lose in the League Cup at Crystal Palace, it's disasterous to be hammered at home by Chelsea. One man is responsible for those defeats, and will be criticised as a result. If the finished product is flawed, which domestically it has been until very recently, then as a fan of the club, I have every right to highlight my dissatisfaction with how things are.

Beating the likes of Portsmouth at home merely papers over the cracks until we run into decent sides, and our problems are exposed. Until such time, as we are able to compete with the big boys, both in individual games and over the season, on a regular basis; the coach, and others if necessary will not escape a mypost-lashing.

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by d f x-
    Begrudgery is where you have people who can't accept gradual improvement....like those who said earlier in the season that we were 12th and that that is an indication of the team and manager's ability......comparing 12th after 8 games to 5th after 38. When informed they were not comparing like with like, they insist that 5th and 12th show how we ahve not improved this season. Those who insist that there is really no point in playing the small teams - the big games is all that counts.. Those who can't see the long term gain in the club - can only see the results at the end of the match because they do not understand football. If it finishes 7-0 then we should've won 8-0. If it finishes 0-0 then it was a pathetic performance and twhy didn't they win 12-0, sure it was only Portsmouth/Sunderland/West Ham/Crystal Palace/Crewe Alexandra.

Everton are crap. Their season's starting - only 4 months into the season....Any chance for Europe lads?

right so the only liverpool begrudger in your book is mypost a liverpool fan !!!

your own begrudgery is summed up nicely there by your attack on everton again double standards from liverpool fans
    Last edited by anto1208; 06/12/2005 at 8:13 AM.

At the end of the day, only the latest results count. Not what they were 2 years ago, or in 2 years time, for "development" purposes. What the team does in each game is the finished product, which is the only thing that matters. It's crap to lose in the FA Cup at Burnley, it's crap to lose in the League Cup at Crystal Palace, it's disasterous to be hammered at home by Chelsea. One man is responsible for those defeats, and will be criticised as a result. If the finished product is flawed, which domestically it has been until very recently, then as a fan of the club, I have every right to highlight my dissatisfaction with how things are.

Beating the likes of Portsmouth at home merely papers over the cracks until we run into decent sides, and our problems are exposed. Until such time, as we are able to compete with the big boys, both in individual games and over the season, on a regular basis; the coach, and others if necessary will not escape a mypost-lashing.
    I'm not sure are you aware of the long held tradition/unwritten conduct among Liverpool fans of not openly criticising or booing either the team or any individual player when 100% can be seen to be given. Hence, the outpouring of joy for Peter Crouch when he opened his account on saturday. If Peter Crouch had gone hiding over the last few months and his performance level had dropped to Beattie levels do you think he'd have been given the appreciation he got? Unlikely; and that is why he is in the team every week and Cisse isn't. Notice the lack of discontent among Liverpool fans at the minute if you can and it may tell you that things are going well and there is full faith in Rafa and what he is doing.

Erik Meijer was recently listed as the top cult-hero among Liverpool fans in this months Kop magazine. It certainly wasn't for his football ability, but for the effort he put in on the rare occasions he played. Igor Biscan got a worthy mention also. Any other set of fans would curse them until their dying day that they happened to wear their team's colours. That in a nutshell sums up how special the bond is between both the greats and not so greats of Liverpools past and its supporters. Meijer could be remembered as the lumbering Dutchman who wouldn't hit a barn door, but because he gave his all anytime he put on the red shirt he has endeared himself to a generation of supporters.

It is easy as a Rovers supporter to vent frustration at your crumbling Hoops when there is ample ammunition to fire. Liverpool, on the other hand, is different. Not only to Rovers, but to any other club. Cast your mind back to Istanbul, to the semi-final against Chelsea, to the homecoming last May, to the night against Juventus, to the streets of Cardiff before the Carling cup-final, and to the night when Gerard Houllier made his return from illness. All those occasions will go down in folklore as occasions that any true Liverpool fan will feel proud of. Not only because of what the team did, but as a way of setting themselves further apart from ordinary fans, of ordinary clubs, as someting special. What I am getting at mypost is, are you the fan who criticises at every needless opportunity or, one of the fans that fits in nicely with what true Liverpool fans are all about? I suspect the former from the trash I read from you sometimes. I don't think you'd last 10 minutes among hardcore Kopites if you trawled out some of the gash you've come out with on here recently.

Your entitled to your opinion like everybody else and thats your perogative. But when there is a marked improvement not only from the start of this season, but also a significant one from last season and you continually belittle it, I wonder why any club needs enemies when it has so-called fans like you. You go on about how "only the latest results count" and then contradict yourself by bringing up Burnley and Palace! What are you on about talking about each game as the "finished product"? The whole season is a work in progress and each game is a step to what the club want to achieve long-term. In football there is no such thing as the finished product, both on an individual and collective level. Rafa Benitez had to overhaul a club on the verge of financial disaster because of Houllier's mismanagement and has done so steadily, and not without success(may I remind you). There's no talk of 5 year plans, with a big void left to fill if it goes pear-shaped. There hasn't been any major hiccups in the tranfer market. And, there has been a gradual, but noticeable, improvement in the style of football being played. What more, may I ask, do you want mypost? Keep highlighting your dissatisfaction "until we are able to compete with the big boys". Were Milan, Juve and Chelsea big enough for you? You'd probably turned the TV off at half-time on May 25th thinking we'd been walloped again by one of the big boys. "2nd and below is for also-rans" Thank fcuk Milan were the also-rans that night and mypost was probably left with egg on his face

I'm thoroughly enjoying the current run of form and as D:ream said, "things can only get better"! Hopefully starting tonight by beating or drawing with the Blue Man U and topping the group.
    Last edited by JoeSemi; 06/12/2005 at 3:06 PM.
    Mens sana in corpore sano

I'm not sure are you aware of the long held tradition/unwritten conduct among Liverpool fans of not openly criticising or booing either the team or any individual player when 100% can be seen to be given. Hence, the outpouring of joy for Peter Crouch when he opened his account on saturday. If Peter Crouch had gone hiding over the last few months and his performance level had dropped to Beattie levels do you think he'd have been given the appreciation he got? Unlikely; and that is why he is in the team every week and Cisse isn't. Notice the lack of discontent among Liverpool fans at the minute if you can and it may tell you that things are going well and there is full faith in Rafa and what he is doing.

Erik Meijer was recently listed as the top cult-hero among Liverpool fans in this months Kop magazine. It certainly wasn't for his football ability, but for the effort he put in on the rare occasions he played. Igor Biscan got a worthy mention also. Any other set of fans would curse them until their dying day that they happened to wear their team's colours. That in a nutshell sums up how special the bond is between both the greats and not so greats of Liverpools past and its supporters. Meijer could be remembered as the lumbering Dutchman who wouldn't hit a barn door, but because he gave his all anytime he put on the red shirt he has endeared himself to a generation of supporters.

It is easy as a Rovers supporter to vent frustration at your crumbling Hoops when there is ample ammunition to fire. Liverpool, on the other hand, is different. Not only to Rovers, but to any other club. Cast your mind back to Istanbul, to the semi-final against Chelsea, to the homecoming last May, to the night against Juventus, to the streets of Cardiff before the Carling cup-final, and to the night when Gerard Houllier made his return from illness. All those occasions will go down in folklore as occasions that any true Liverpool fan will feel proud of. Not only because of what the team did, but as a way of setting themselves further apart from ordinary fans, of ordinary clubs, as someting special. What I am getting at mypost is, are you the fan who criticises at every needless opportunity or, one of the fans that fits in nicely with what true Liverpool fans are all about? I suspect the former from the trash I read from you sometimes. I don't think you'd last 10 minutes among hardcore Kopites if you trawled out some of the gash you've come out with on here recently.

Your entitled to your opinion like everybody else and thats your perogative. But when there is a marked improvement not only from the start of this season, but also a significant one from last season and you continually belittle it, I wonder why any club needs enemies when it has so-called fans like you. You go on about how "only the latest results count" and then contradict yourself by bringing up Burnley and Palace! What are you on about talking about each game as the "finished product"? The whole season is a work in progress and each game is a step to what the club want to achieve long-term. In football there is no such thing as the finished product, both on an individual and collective level. Rafa Benitez had to overhaul a club on the verge of financial disaster because of Houllier's mismanagement and has done so steadily, and not without success(may I remind you). There's no talk of 5 year plans, with a big void left to fill if it goes pear-shaped. There hasn't been any major hiccups in the tranfer market. And, there has been a gradual, but noticeable, improvement in the style of football being played. What more, may I ask, do you want mypost? Keep highlighting your dissatisfaction "until we are able to compete with the big boys". Were Milan, Juve and Chelsea big enough for you? You'd probably turned the TV off at half-time on May 25th thinking we'd been walloped again by one of the big boys. "2nd and below is for also-rans" Thank fcuk Milan were the also-rans that night and mypost was probably left with egg on his face

I'm thoroughly enjoying the current run of form and as D:ream said, "things can only get better"! Hopefully starting tonight by beating or drawing with the Blue Man U and topping the group.
    A round of applause for you Joesemi and a great post. i have often thought of sitting down and writting a lengthy post like you have to explain to some posters what a fool they make themselves look like but then just though...nah he is not worth it. People like that love moaning, playing devils advocate and seeking attention.
    still a great post that every liverpool fan who knows the "liverpool way" will agree to

Post of the month Joe. I'm not a Liverpool fan but I can understand how it's an exciting time for the club at the moment. The game last weekend was the best league performance I've seen from Liverpool in a long time. In fact, some of the football Liverpool played going forward was as good as I've seen from any team this season, and that includes Spurs! Its obvious mypost hasn't got a leg to stand on with his argument. Also, fully agree with what you said about the way Liverpool fans treat their players, both past and present.
    "Love many, trust few, always paddle your own canoe." Dillo

Quote Originally Posted by TheJamaicanP.M.
    Post of the month Joe. I'm not a Liverpool fan but I can understand how it's an exciting time for the club at the moment. The game last weekend was the best league performance I've seen from Liverpool in a long time. In fact, some of the football Liverpool played going forward was as good as I've seen from any team this season, and that includes Spurs! Its obvious mypost hasn't got a leg to stand on with his argument. Also, fully agree with what you said about the way Liverpool fans treat their players, both past and present.
    Another easy result last night at chelsea, ANOTHER clean sheet....9 in a row, and finishing top of the group. Rafa is the fcukin man yeah!!!
    and to think that at the beginning of the group stage Maureen-o stated the betis would be chelseas main threat in the group
    now cmon Benfica i know they have alot of injuries at the moment .....but wouldnt it be funny!!!!!

175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap
    At the mo, I'm draped across the couch, can of heino in hand, packet of Walkers Prawn Cocktail, and lap-top resting rather precariously, watching Liverpool crashing out of the Champions League, 1-1 (15mins left). She-Devil at work, more heino in fridge...........does it get any better than this????
    At the mo, I'm draped across the couch, can of coke in hand, packet of Walkers Prawn Cocktail, and lap-top resting rather precariously, watching United crashing out of the Champions League, 2-1 (15mins left). She-Devil at work, more coke in fridge..does it get any better than this????

How the tables have turned!

Ten Years Not Out

watching United crashing out of the Champions League, 2-1 (15mins left).
    All they need is a draw, 7 mins left now though.
    How the tables have turned!
    The Premiership one still has Pool and United in the right order though.
    Last edited by sligoman; 07/12/2005 at 8:34 PM.

All they need is a draw, 7 mins left now though.
    Ok, now it's over.

I think it's sickening and speaks volumes to see Villareal top their group tonight and qualify for the last sixteen of the champions league. If it weren't for a downright disgraceful referring decision in disallowing a perfectly good Duncan Ferguson header last August, chances are merseyside would have two representatives in the last sixteen. Judging from the games i've saw, I have no doubt the toffees would have held their own in such a group.
    Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

Quote Originally Posted by Dillo
    I have no doubt the toffees would have held their own in such a group.
    Good one!.

THHHHHHHHHUUUUUMP.

Down come Utd to reality

Dillo, Everton would not have been in that group most likely, they would have not been as rated as Villareal.....they would've been third seeds in AC's rgoup or something like that...

Like Olly gesticulating that had they beaten Depor, they would've been in the group with Liverpool last season.......
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.