View Full Version : Desmonds in Munster Final

muls world
28/03/2006, 11:40 PM
Next Saturday sees the Finals of the Munster Inter League competition take place in U.L. The Limerick Desmond Schoolboys take on Waterford at 12 noon.

Number9
29/03/2006, 1:05 PM
At what age group is this competition - U12? U14????

muls world
29/03/2006, 11:07 PM
Desmond U/12s v Waterford, 12 noon.
Limerick District U/14s v Waterford, 12 noon.
Waterford U/15s v Cork, 2pm.
Waterford U/16s v Limerick County, 2pm.

All games in University of Limerick.

muls world
30/03/2006, 5:37 PM
All Munster Inter League Finals fixed for UL this Saturday have being cancelled due to weather conditions. No new dates have being set as of yet

Number9
30/03/2006, 9:02 PM
Waterford schoolboys are doing really well at league level. Is this indicative of Waterford club soccer? How are they faring in the SFAI cups? No Kerry league team in a final? How will Waterford fare in the Kennedy Cup? I think that Kerry may be a good outside bet in this - Listowel Celtic have a crackin U13 team!

teckno
31/03/2006, 1:28 PM
Waterford soccer in terms of schoolboy clubs have historically been very poor when it comes to SFAI Cups, there best run for years was when Ferrybank lost out to Shelbourne 4-2 in the semi final of the Under 12 SFAI Cup in 2001

However when it comes to Inter league competition, Waterford are tremendous, At present they are number 2 seeds for Kennedy Cup behind the DDSL, and are in all 4 Munster finals. Things could not really be better!!

Number9
31/03/2006, 3:22 PM
Is Liam Brady back training the Dubs???

Kennedy Cup Groups - at this link http://www.sfai.ie/microsites/icgp/sfai/uploadedfiles/KENNEDY%20CUP%20GROUPS%202006.xls

Kennedy Cup Fixtures - at this link
http://www.sfai.ie/microsites/icgp/sfai/uploadedfiles/KENNEDYCUPFIXTURES2006.xls

muls world
07/04/2006, 4:05 PM
Next Wednesday week, April 19th is the new date for Munster U/12 Inter League final. Limerick Desmond Schoolboys will face a very strong Waterford Schoolboys side in Cooke Park. Ko 6.30pm

muls world
19/04/2006, 1:04 AM
As teckno says, when it comes to Inter league competition, Waterford are fairly good, this point was borne out when their 15s defeated Cork 4-2 on pens in the recent Munster Final after the sides finished level at 1-1 aet.

Tonight Desmond U/12s face the daunting prospect of having to overcome a very talented Waterford side at Cooke Park. Word on the ground is that there will be big support traveling from West Limerick hoping that we can win our second cup in three years. All Desmond supporters are really looking forward to tonight.
Best of luck tonight lads.

muls world
19/04/2006, 11:37 PM
Disappointment for Desmond U/12s in the Munster Final played in Cooke Park this evening as Waterford edged it on a 2-1scoreline. Waterford took an early lead following a swift counter attack down their left and were looking very good at this stage. The second quarter saw our lads improve and began to compete strongly but at half time it was Waterford who were ahead by the slimmest of margins.

Desmonds played more positively in the second half and just three minutes in leveled matters with a thumping free kick. Soon after we were behind again when Waterford retook the lead with another free kick. Desmonds dominated possession between this and the finish and despite a great work rate just couldn’t get the second goal and were rightly disappointed at the final whistle. Nevertheless we have to now focus on a playoff against the Leinster runners up to see who will go through to the National semi finals.

There was great support there for the boys this evening and this support will be called for in our next outing.

If anybody knows how the Leinster section is progressing ye might pass it on./

muls world
06/05/2006, 11:15 PM
The Limerick Desmond U/12s will be away to Kilkenny next Saturday,
May 13th in the quarter finals of the Inter League competition having lost the toss for home advantage during the week. Last Saturday in Dublin Kilkenny lost out narrowly in the Leinster Final against the DDSL, the latter coming from a goal down to win the title. Ourselves and Kilkenny, the provincial runners up now have a second chance to reach the All Ireland series in early June when the sides meet in Thomastown next Saturday. the match kicks off at 6.30pm. We will be up against it next week so big support is expected to travel next Saturday.